San Francisco Marathon Week 15 Training Recap

Almost all the training is in the bank. All that’s left before the marathon is taper.

It’s at this point that I usually start reevaluating my goals, making sure that come race day, I won’t set myself up for disappointment with unachievable goals. I have to balance that with my new found determination not to underestimate myself. (as seen in the phenomenal times of the three half marathons I’ve run this year)

I’m not sure what my exact race plan and goals (yes, multiple goals) will be for the race but I’ll be working hard to figure that out over the next three weeks and making sure that I taper properly so that come June 16th, three weeks from today, I’ll be ready to race.

Here’s how week 15 went down:

Monday 5 miles recovery run
I had to rush to get started thanks to my alarm clock going on the fritz. (as if the power went out to just my alarm clock) Then I had to deal with running through a literal cloud. (aka humidity above 100%) Despite both those things, I felt really strong throughout this run. I just wish I’d had more time to enjoy it.

Tuesday 10 miles with 4 x 1200m intervals
These intervals were tough–the good kind of tough. I loved the whole thing.

Wednesday stationary bike at gym
Thanks to a less than stellar night’s sleep the night before, I was so tired for this workout I could barely keep my eyes open. (At least that’s what it felt like.) While I didn’t enjoy it, I got it done and hope for a better night’s sleep in the night’s to come.

Thursday 10 miles regular run
I ran inside because of the potential thunderstorms (even though there were none at the time). I felt great the whole time. There was nothing extraordinary (good or bad) about this run.

Friday 4 miles recovery run
This run was so much fun. I felt good the entire time, especially when Macklemore’s “Can’t Hold Us” came on. Great run!

Saturday 20 miles long run
a successful 20 miler to mark the beginning of taper

Sunday rest
It’s a rest day, not much to say;.

Leave a comment

Filed under marathon

Leave a Reply

