Almost Half a Year!

This is coming a few days late, just a matter of timing. As I’m sure everyone and their brother has said recently…”I can’t believe that the year is almost half over!” Trust me, almost every customer said something to that effect on Friday.

A few things have changed for these goals which I’ll specify for each goal.

Fitness

1. Run 1800 miles (Reach: 2000)
Total miles ran in May: 210.77
Total miles ran in 2013 so far: 913.64
Total miles remaining (1800): 886.36
Total miles remaining (2000): 1086.36
At this rate I need to maintain a minimum of 30.9 miles per week to reach my goal of 1800 and a minimum of 36.7 miles per week to achieve my reach goal. This is about 17 miles less than April, likely a side effect of taper. (It has just started but peak mileage week came in April.) June will likely see even less miles since it’s home to taper and recover. All said and done, I’m right on track for both goals.

2. Race at least once a month.
So far so good. Technically it’s been a month since the last race (May 3) but I got it in and had a great time doing it.

3. Strength train twice a week
This has not been happening at all and I can tell. My weight is the same but I feel squishier. I’m not sure how I’ll do it but I know that I’ll find a way to squeeze it into Marine Corps Marathon training.

4. Start Swimming
Uh…nada. I might actually try to do this. Now that I’m not in school the trick will be figuring out where I can swim. Well, that’s just an added obstacle. While I want this to happen, I’m really not sure that it will.

Scholastic

5. Make thesis and PhD work a top priority.
Thesis is done and I certainly made it a priority. It’s the PhD part that will see major changes. Last month I was all set to renew my search, make it a priority. Then I started my new job. I haven’t decided how many details I’m going to share on the blog for security reasons so I’ll err on the side of caution for the time being. When I started that job I could barely get over just how much I absolutely love it. I never expected it. I could see myself doing this long term. The only hitch? Technically I was hired for a summer position. There’s a tentative possibility that something will open up in the fall but it’s tentative. I’m praying hard for that. Because of this new found love (and lack thereof for PhD research), PhD plans are on indefinite hiatus.

6. Take the blog in a new direction.
I don’t think I defined this goal well enough. I think a better goal would be to focus on writing quality posts or perhaps using this blog as an outlet for my opinion on current events and etc. (Rather than Facebook which is a whole different ball of wax.)

7. Read 150 books.
So far this year I’ve read 87 books (including audiobooks), 25 books ahead of schedule. The amount of time that I’ve been able to dedicate to reading has decreased dramatically. I’m still figuring out how to make this work and still plug away at all my books. I’ll figure out a way to read more because all the books I’ve read so far has reawakened my love of reading. (Plus, pumping up the count with audiobooks is pretty fun)

Personal

8. Take 1,000 pictures/Have 8,000 photos uploaded to flickr.
This year I have taken 551 pics with 449 left to go.
I have a total of 7518 uploaded to flickr with 482 remaining.
At this rate I need to take 2.1 pictures per day to reach the 1,000 pictures goal and 2.25 pictures per day to reach the 8,000 picture total.
The only reason that I was able to pull the average down at all was because of all the pictures from graduation. It takes a conscious effort to get pictures taken with my new work schedule but hopefully I’ll be able to adjust.

2 Comments

Filed under goal

2 responses to “Almost Half a Year!

  1. Wow great goals, and great progress! I have no doubt you’ll reach them all!

Leave a Reply

