Halfway Done with 2013

Again, this post comes a couple days late. (That’s according to calendar time. For me, it’s right on time.)

My life looks almost totally different than what I thought it would when this year began. That’s very evident in my goals and how I’ve changed them as the months have progressed. I’m really looking forward to what the second half of 2013 brings.

1. Run 1800 miles (Reach: 2000)
Total miles ran in June: 110.60
Total miles ran in 2013 so far: 1024.24
Total miles remaining (1800): 775.76
Total miles remaining (2000): 976.76
At this rate I need to maintain a minimum of 29.84 miles per week to reach my goal of 1800 and a minimum of 37.5 miles per week to achieve my reach goal. This is what happens when one runs a marathon and then takes a week off afterwards. I think June will be my lowest mileage month for the year. July might come pretty close. ๐Ÿ™‚

2. Race at least once a month.
Obviously, June’s race was the big one so far this year.

3. Strength train twice a week
So, this didn’t happen at all, again, through the first three weeks of June. I knew that that would happen. I did not want to risk starting up strength training again in the two weeks before my goal marathon. Then I took the third week completely off. Last week, however, I jumped back in. I also made sure to put it in the plan for MCM. In the earlier weeks I managed to schedule two days a week!

4. Start Swimming
I’ve had more thoughts about this. Does that count? Since I’m asking myself than I give myself the answer of … sort of. I should not have made this a goal for this year. However, I have researched my options in the area and come up with possibilities for when I actually start swimming, likely next year.

Scholastic

5. Make thesis and PhD work a top priority.
Successfully completed. This goal will not be continuing throughout the rest of the year.

6. Take the blog in a new direction.
Right now, I’m comfortable with where my blog is and I think that I’ll stay with the running focus. Since I love my job and hope to make it a career, I probably will not be returning to the academic world. I may write more topical posts (essays) but they will be rather infrequent because I want to focus on my job.

7. Read 150 200 books.
I’ve increased this goal to 200 after deciding to count the audiobooks in the count.
So far this year Iโ€™ve read 104 books (including audiobooks), 4 books ahead of schedule.

Personal

8. Take 1,000 pictures/Have 8,000 photos uploaded to flickr.
This year I have taken 751 pics with 249 left to go.
I have a total of 7718 uploaded to flickr with 282 remaining.
At this rate I need to take 1.35 pictures per day to reach the 1,000 pictures goal and 1.5 pictures per day to reach the 8,000 picture total.
So, the San Francisco trip helped with this count immensely. I may end up editing this goal after the beach trip. I have a feeling I will take plenty of pictures while we’re down there.

2 Comments

Filed under goal

2 responses to “Halfway Done with 2013

  1. Haha, oh swimming. If you need some help with that goal, you can always get involved with Greenville Splash. =)

Leave a Reply

