Marine Corps Marathon Week 2 Training Recap

I love marathon training. I just wish that the weather would cooperate. Alas, that’s South Carolina for you.

Here’s how the week went down:

Monday 11 miles
I felt fine, albeit a bit sluggish throughout. I loved my new running outfit and thought it might help me run a bit faster (wouldn’t be as hot) so I was surprised to see my overall pace. I haven’t run that slow in quite some time and I have no idea how it happened.

Tuesday stationary bike + NTC
The NTC workout went really well. I actually liked almost every single exercise.

Wednesday 8 miles with 4 at race pace
I absolutely loved this run. It was really tough though. The plan called for 8 miles with 4 at half marathon pace. I think that it was supposed to be a tempo run but I ended up running those 4 miles as mile intervals with half a mile in between. Despite the toughness, I think I could have gone a little bit faster or maybe done two 2 mile intervals. 🙂 I repeat. I loved this run!

Thursday stationary bike + NTC
This was a good ride. I skipped the NTC strength training since the combination of speed work the day after Tuesday’s NTC left me a bit sore. Of course, I made that decision before I went to bed Wednesday night. I probably could have (and should have) squeezed it in. Regardless, I was happy with today’s ride. I pushed harder than I have been (but not as hard as I could and should) and finished satisfied with the ride.

Friday 5 miles
I ran inside because I was too tired/sleepy to run outside. It took a little while to warm up but after that the run went well, nice and easy.

Saturday 15 miles long run
Two words: so. humid.

Sunday rest
I needed it this week. I enjoyed it too.

1 Comment

Filed under marathon

One response to “Marine Corps Marathon Week 2 Training Recap

  1. Pingback: Marine Corps Marathon Training Page | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

