Marine Corps Marathon Week Three Training Recap

What a week.

To say that my training has not gone how I would have imagined at the beginning of the week would be an understatement.

I’ve had my fair share of ups and downs and I’m pretty sure that the journey is not over yet. (The tightness in my lower back muscles comes in waves. Yes, the waves grow smaller each day but it’s still there. I’m hoping to figure this out soon.)

So, how did the week go?

Monday 8 miles with 800m intervals
I misread the training plan the night before and got myself all psyched up for 800m intervals so when I saw that it was supposed to be strides I stuck with intervals. I really pushed it on the intervals. It’s amazing the difference one tenth makes between 7.4 and 7.5. I absolutely loved this run!

Tuesday 4 miles + NTC
Run: This run was one of the worst I’ve ever had. I should have worn my headlamp. This caused me to be super tentative through the first two miles. This was when my back first started to act up. It’s been bothering on and off for the past few weeks but nothing serious. I have a feeling it has to do both with the fact that I haven’t been as diligent in keeping proper posture and the fact that I’ve been wearing heels at work. I’m still not sure what the actual cause is.
NTC: I had decided against this but then at the end of the run I decided I wanted to do it so I pushed through and felt great doing it. I probably shouldn’t have though. My back muscles are really tight and I’m sick at the thought that this stupid back thing is back.

Wednesday 11 miles
This run was ugly, probably one of the ugliest I’ve ever had. Once again my lower back muscles are starting to tighten. While it didn’t interfere with my run physically it certainly interfered mentally. In addition to the whole back thing (both mental and physical) my legs felt sluggish and a bit sore from the strength training workout Tuesday. Overall, I felt like my body was fighting me and I barely got this run completed. That time does not include several breaks to cross streets/check how my back felt/mentally regroup. After the run I decided to take a rest day.

Thursday stationary bike + NTC rest
I’m more than sure that this was the right thing to do.

Friday 4 miles recovery
This run was so much better than Wednesday’s. My legs still felt heavy at the beginning of the run but after a mile they warmed up. My back has felt much better though I would love to know what caused the spasms/tightness in the first place (and continues to cause them). This run was a great relief.

Saturday 16 miles with 10 at race pace
I absolutely loved this run but not the back tension that reoccured during and just after the car ride home. Though it went away soon after I got out of the car I’m still perplexed and frustrated.

Sunday rest
I’m trying very hard to make sure that I recover properly and figure out this tension in my lower back.

My goal for next week is to do whatever I can to get to the root of the cause of the tension in my lower back muscles and get rid of it as soon as I can.

1 Comment

Filed under marathon

One response to “Marine Corps Marathon Week Three Training Recap

  1. Pingback: Marine Corps Marathon Training Page | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

