Marine Corps Marathon Week 8 Training Recap

Marathon training is no joke. I put training on the front burner this week and even though every run wasn’t the best ever, I’m back in the marathon game.

(For those who follow anything related to MCM, the news that came down about the prohibition on Camelbaks and other such packs is not news. I plan to address this as soon as I know more details. I definitely have an opinion on the matter even though the change does not affect me directly.)

Here’s how the week’s workouts went down:

Monday 6 miles
This was one of those runs that doesn’t come around very often. Everything came together perfectly. Since I went in later to work I slept in a little and ran after the sun came up. It’s amazing what a difference that makes. Plus, the weather had just a hint of fall. I started the run with the determination to put marathon training back on the front burner this week and just kept that pace up. It felt so awesome. I didn’t want it to end. A great way to start the week!

Tuesday 10 miles
This run wasn’t quite as perfect as Monday but it was still lightyears ahead of last week. It’s amazing what a full night’s sleep will do. I’m also hopeful that the overabundance of spiderwebs is on the wane. (Only 3 today!) The 9:30 average pace felt really good though I should have brought the hydration belt. My mouth felt pretty dry at the end. I’m so glad that the good runs are back!

Wednesday 10 miles with 5 miles at half marathon pace
I’m disappointed with myself. This was supposed to be a tempo run but I ended up running 5 miles at an easy pace and 5 3/4 mile intervals for the remaining miles. Even those intervals were not as fast as they should have been. I know that my legs were pretty tired. (This was the fourth run in a row.) I would have loved to keep this run on Thursday as originally scheduled but there’s no way I could cram in 10-12 miles and still get to work on time at 7:50am. It’s at times like this that I wonder about my 3:45 goal for MCM. However, several weeks still remain.

Thursday stationary bike + NTC
I accidentally dressed for the run thinking that it was Friday, not Thursday. I now know to not wear my running shorts when on the bike. This ride was nothing to write home about. I was so sleepy that it was hard to read my Runner’s World while I rode but at least I finished.

Friday 4 miles + Moonshiner Night 5k
4 miles: This run was nice and easy, nothing extraordinary. I dialed back a little on the pace in anticipation of the race and the 20 miler.
Moonshiner Night 5k: I enjoyed it as usual, though I probably shouldn’t have run it since it was the night before a 20 miler.

Saturday 20 miles
Third fastest 20 miler, not bad for the day after a tough night trail race

Sunday rest
My calves were a bit tight in the morning so I made sure to stretch and foam roll like a good little runner in preparation for Monday’s speedwork.

1 Comment

Filed under marathon, running

One response to “Marine Corps Marathon Week 8 Training Recap

  1. Pingback: Marine Corps Marathon Training Page | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

