Marine Corps Marathon Week 9 Training Recap

Just in time for the second to last week before taper I had a spectacular week of training. It’s just a little scary though to realize that the marathon is a little less than a month away.

Monday 8 miles w/800m intervals
I love starting the week off with a great run. At first I didn’t think that it was going to be a great run. My legs were still a little tired from Saturday’s 20 miler. However, after the second interval my legs warmed up enough to take my mind off the possibility of scratching the rest of the intervals. I felt great and am so happy that I completed this workout as prescribed.

Tuesday 11 miles
I felt great throughout this run so I’m perplexed as to the pace. Several times throughout the run I glanced down at my Garmin to find it saying I was maintaining a just over 10 minute/mile pace when I felt like I was holding a 9:30 at least. It’s funny how looking at the data can change my perspective on whether or not the run was a success or “failure.” Now that I have new shoes, I’m fairly certain that the sluggish pace had a lot to do with the shoes. (almost 400 miles on those!)

Wednesday stationary bike + NTC
The plan called for strength training today. Nothing stood in my way today but I still couldn’t get over the mental block I had about it this morning. I rode an hour instead. I pushed it a little harder than last week and didn’t get sleepy until the last 15 minutes or so.

Thursday 11 miles
My pace was much better on this run than Tuesday’s. My legs/feet felt more tired than Tuesday but that’s probably because I needed new shoes.

Friday 4 miles
I absolutely loved this run. I don’t know for sure whether it was just the fact that I got to run when the sun was already up or the new shoes (On CloudSurfer) that made the run amazing. I think it was a combination of both. Granted, this was supposed to be a “recovery” run but I was too excited about how wonderful the run felt to hold back. (Evidence: negative splits–9:22, 9:15, 9:08, 8:48)

Saturday 17 miles
This run was AMAZING!!!! I love my new On Cloudsurfers!

Sunday rest
Rest days are always enjoyed, especially in peak training weeks.

1 Comment

Filed under marathon, running

One response to “Marine Corps Marathon Week 9 Training Recap

  1. Pingback: Marine Corps Marathon Training Page | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

