Marine Corps Marathon Week 10 Training Recap

Talk about a great week of training. This has been my favorite week so far.

Monday 7 miles recovery
I felt really good throughout, so good that I had to make a conscious effort to hold myself back because this was supposed to be a recovery run. I have a habit of pushing too hard because I love running fast and hate having any mile split above 10.

Tuesday 10 miles w/800m intervals
This wasn’t the exact speedwork prescribed by the plan but I like the 800m intervals a little too much. It took a little while to get warmed up (about two intervals) but after that I felt great.

Wednesday stationary bike + NTC
stationary bike: Nice, easy “warm up” ride.
NTC: My ab/upper body strength is pathetic.I had to bargain with myself to get this workout even started. Strength training is one of those things that I have a hard time motivating myself to do but once I do it I know that I need a whole lot more of it. Today I did not feel like doing it so I told myself that I would just do a 15 minute NTC workout. Now that I got back into it I’m going to do my best to get a session in next week and the week after before taking a break for the marathon.

Thursday 11 9 miles
This was my first time running with the running group. I knew they were fast so I knew this would be a challenge. I didn’t realize that I’d joined them on one of their tougher routes too. Whoops. About a mile or so into the run things started to get tough. A couple miles later I seriously considered bailing but had no idea how to get back to my car so I stuck with them. I’m so glad I did. We stopped for water just before mile 5. When we started running again I felt much better and ended up in a trio at the back of the pack. Our pace was about 30 seconds slower which I needed at that point. Unfortunately, we took a wrong turn and added an extra hill to our route. Yippee! 🙂 I finished feeling happy and ready for more some time next week. I want to get faster and the best way to do that is running with faster people.

Friday 4 miles recovery
This was a nice, easy recovery run on the treadmill. (I didn’t want to run in the dark so my options were gym treadmill right after I woke up or wait until sunrise to squeeze it in just before work. I chose option A.)

Saturday 20 miles
A great last (really) long run!

Sunday rest
I had to force myself to take it easy…that’s how great week 10 has been. 🙂

Only three weeks until the marathon!

1 Comment

Filed under marathon, running

One response to “Marine Corps Marathon Week 10 Training Recap

  1. Pingback: Marine Corps Marathon Training Page | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

