Marine Corps Marathon Week 11 Training Recap

Technically this week was the first of a three week taper. The mileage was a little lower and the long run was four miles shorter. However, I couldn’t really call this a taper week, especially with Saturday’s long run complete with marathon goal pace miles. Taper starts today and I am embracing it.

Before I get too far ahead of myself, this is how last week panned out:

Monday 6 miles recovery
95% of this run was great. However, right as I started the last mile I felt a weird twinge/pain on the outside of my ankle. (It was the point behind the bone where you can “pinch” it.) It was the weirdest feeling and lasted only .3 of the last mile. However, I was really concerned because the marathon is less than 3 weeks away. Thankfully, I think it was just one of those twinges that every marathoner fears as the race approaches.

Tuesday 8 miles with 800m intervals
I was a little nervous about this run after the odd twinges Monday. I’m not sure what they were but more than likely my imagination got the better of me. It took me a couple intervals to get warmed up. Once I got warmed up these intervals felt great. The last couple felt tough but in a good way. I really liked this run.

Wednesday stationary bike + NTC
stationary bike: I pushed the pace on this ride, fueled partially my frustration that the reminders app on my phone decided to resurrect 74 entries that I had already crossed off. Other than that this was a brilliant ride.
NTC: I think I’ve figured out my problem with getting myself to do any strength training workouts. I love running too much. I run 5 days a week and whenever I see someone out running on a cross-training or rest day, I want to get out and run myself. I think the 15 minute workouts are all I can handle right now. I know I need more though. I had to drop down from 8 lbs weights to 5 lbs.

Thursday 9 miles
I felt really good on this run. My stride felt amazing. The only perplexing thing is my pace. I felt like I was going much faster than a 9:46 average. (I was trying to keep my average pace range in mind though so maybe I held back a little?)

Friday 6 miles recovery
My stride continues to feel amazing. I’m not sure how to describe it but ever since I started running in the On Cloudsurfers each run has felt awesome. I’m definitely a fan of the shoes. I’m still perplexed as to why it feels like I’m running faster (slightly) than I actually am. The difference today wasn’t too bad. Maybe I’m fixing my internal Garmin.

Saturday 16 miles with 12 at race pace
I’m tougher on myself than I should be. 🙂 I’m pretty happy with my fastest 16 miles yet.

Sunday rest
I took this rest day seriously and plan on doing the same for the rest of taper.

Two weeks until the Marine Corps Marathon. Bring it on!

1 Comment

Filed under marathon

One response to “Marine Corps Marathon Week 11 Training Recap

  1. Pingback: Marine Corps Marathon Training Page | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

