Hilton Head Island Half Marathon Training Week 4 Recap

This week ended up being an unexpected step back week both in terms of mileage and number of runs during the week.

Monday 5 miles
This run was probably the best I’ve had in a while, not pacewise of course. I felt really good and I’m sure that had to do with the fact that I no longer have the pressure of training for a marathon. My stomach did feel a little off, especially when I started my cool down but other than that it was a really good run.

Tuesday rest
I still don’t understand what happened but late Monday afternoon my back started tensing and hurting significantly. I hadn’t done anything differently. I decided right then to take Tuesday off and sleep in. There was no reason for me to push ahead with a strength training workout. Thankfully the sleep and day off seemed to work.

Wednesday stationary bike
I dithered about working out that morning. Originally I had planned on running, my usual. However, the weather was not very appealing (chilly with pretty strong wind gusts and a little rain). Plus, I didn’t want to run on the treadmill. Even though it would mean running only 3 days this week I decided to go ahead and just ride the bike aka get something in. Thankfully this ride re-sparked my desire to work out and run. This ride was really good. I thought I pushed harder than I did but it’s a step in the right direction.

Thursday Trees Greenville Turkey Day 8k
I loved this race but hope that they get the distance standardized for next year.

Friday rest
My knee felt a little weird at the end of the day Thursday so I decided against running three days in a row. I would have done some crosstraining but the gym didn’t open until 8 which helps all those who have the day off. That wasn’t me. 🙂

Saturday 8 miles
This run surprised me. My motivation to get up and go has been waning as of late including today. Thankfully I got to sleep a little longer since I waited so I could run with Mom. I knew we would be running faster and wasn’t sure if I was ready or if I wanted to. Turns out that I wanted to. I just had to start running. The first mile or so felt like warm ups. Then we hit a groove and just rode it until the last mile when Mom poured on the speed. We clocked a 7:37 last mile. No wonder she came in 3rd in her age group at the 8k Thursday. I think I need to run with her more often. 🙂 I might just be getting my running mojo back.

Sunday rest
This is my usual rest day. Since yesterday though my back has been a little bit tight, not painful through. I’m really not sure what this is or why this is coming back since I’ve been doing strengthening exercises and focusing on good posture. Hopefully this is temporary because lately it seems like if it’s not one thing it’s another.

This week has definitely been a mixed bag. I’m not sure what to make of it.

Leave a comment

Filed under half marathon, running

Leave a Reply

