The Year in Running – Behind and Ahead

This isn’t going to be a long entry. I’m not going to do a recap of the goals that I set out at the beginning of the year. (Brief summary: I accomplished most of them and adjusted where necessary.)

I’m also not going to write another goal post for 2014. As the end of the year approached, I realized that I’m not really that interested in that sort of goal setting right now. Instead, I want to look back at the year in running, since it was pretty phenomenal for the most part, and set a couple, malleable goals for 2014.

Here’s 2013 in numbers:

Total mileage: 1930.38 (up 320 from 2012)
Totals races: 12
That breaks down to:
2 marathons, 5 half marathons, 1 8k and 4 5ks
PRs: 2 massive ones… 1:43:44 for the half marathon and 3:58:02 for the marathon

That’s a lot of running. 2013 was very high-mileage and goal oriented year. I set some big goals and made almost all of them. The last 2.5 months of the year, though, served to put some perspective on my running.

I learned that dramatically ramping up my mileage and continuing to train for marathon after marathon without proper cool down and stretching is probably not a good thing for my body. I learned that I often put other people’s expectations on my running, especially after I publicly declare pretty big goals (like running three marathons all spaced about three months apart) and that meeting those arbitrary goals or expectations is not what it’s all about. I learned that I need a winter off-season and have enjoyed the past few weeks immensely.

That’s a lot to learn in one year and there’s probably more that I learned that I haven’t written about here.

Now…2014…

I’m taking what I learned in 2013 and am plunging forward. For example, the plan right now is to run one marathon (TBD) this year, in the fall. I’m still a runner even though it will take me forever (if at all) to reach my bucket list goal of a marathon in every state.

Also, I am not setting a mileage goal for this year. While I would dearly love to reach 2000 miles after coming so tantalizingly close, I’m not going to set that goal and then set myself up for disappointment if the right thing is to pull back on mileage.

Instead, here is my running goal for 2014: PR in every race distance (not race) I choose to run.

Yes, I’m ambitious. However, I’m doing it with a plan. I already have some goal races in mind for the 5k, 8k, 10k, half marathon and marathon. All of them seem to placed a decent intervals in a relatively decent progression from one distance to the next.

This means more concentration on my workouts, both running and cross training, rather than more and more mileage.

Today I started the year off on the right foot by running a pretty awesome 4 miler with my Mom. I can’t wait to see what 2014 will bring.

1 Comment

Filed under goal, running

One response to “The Year in Running – Behind and Ahead

  1. Pingback: The Big PR Plan Post | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

