Hilton Head Island Half Marathon Week 12 Training Recap

The running mojo may be back but the blogging mojo is yet to be found. 😉 I realize that I’m down to one post a week and to be honest, it’s not all that original. Once training starts to ramp back up, aka I get out of the holding patter, I hope to get back to posting at least twice a week with an occasional third post thrown in the mix. For now, though, this works.

After a couple months, my weekly mileage finally climbed back up over 30. I hope to maintain that as a minimum as often as I can this year. We’ll see how that goes.

How did I get there this week?

Monday 7 miles
I had planned on taking it easy on this run but ended up with sub 9 minutes. Whoops. The good part of that is that the pace didn’t feel hard, just average. I’ll take that and then some. What I could do without is the catcall from a redneck in a pickup truck.

Tuesday stationary bike warm up + NTC
It took me a few tries to find a new workout that I liked. I’m not necessarily a fan of the rearranged workouts on the app after the update. This particular workout was pretty fun though it lacked ab work. Mom and I added some Russian twists at the end.

Wednesday 7 miles
Thanks to a wind chill making the temps feel like 2 degrees, I ran inside. I felt mostly fine but my legs were rather achey. I got the run done though and got my Doctor Who fix so it’s all good.

Thursday 5 miles with running group
I finally made it back downtown to run with the group. Thankfully, they were taking it “easy” on the pace because a few of them are running a trail race on Saturday. I know they were taking it easy because the pace didn’t feel incredibly hard. I actually wanted more so I’m looking forward to more runs with the group.

Friday stationary bike
I thought this was a much stronger (ie faster) ride than it ended up being. I don’t know how I ever managed to get 15 miles in an hour on the recumbent bike before. I had to sprint for the last seven minutes to get the distance I did. Be that as it may, I actually enjoyed this ride.

Saturday 11 miles
I waited until Mom got back from her conference so we could get one last long run before the half in together. We also ended up inside at the gym on the treadmill. 20mph winds are nothing to mess around with. Since it was Mom’s first time going long on the treadmill we took it easier pace-wise than we would have if we had run on the Swamp Rabbit Trail. I put a towel over the console and focused instead on Doctor Who. (It was the Van Gogh episode…so sad and amazing!) The time and distance went by so quickly. I felt great the whole time and can’t wait to keep adding more distance.

Sunday rest
I think it’s the return of the running mojo that makes rest days feel anathema. Be that as it may, I’m determined to become a smarter runner so relaxing is where it’s at on Sundays.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

