Reedy River 10k Race Week Training Recap

It’s fascinating how the last work out of the week colors the entire week of workouts, in this case for the better.

I’m pretty excited about this week of training, specifically because of the results I got on Saturday. I still have to decide which half marathon I’m doing on April 26th (hopefully a post will be coming soon about that) but I’m ready to dive back into training.

Before I get too far ahead, here’s how race week training went.

Monday 7 miles with half mile intervals
This run felt pretty good but not great. Unlike last week, I did not increase the interval speed, just added a mile. I did have to take a water fountain break at mile 4.5. I think I would have been able to increase interval speed if I had been fully hydrated. That’s something I need to work on. I’m pretty bad about drinking enough water on the weekends.

Tuesday stationary bike warm up + NTC
This workout had more cardio than I expected. I pushed hard and ended up sweating. I can’t wait to get back at it again next week!

Wednesday 7 miles
A weird dream set me a bit off kilter that morning. I’ve got to figure out a way to wake up at a better time in my sleep cycle. It took a few miles for me to get into this run, thus my pace was slower overall than I wanted but I felt great and by the time I finished I was running strong.

Thursday 7 miles
I woke up before my alarm so at least I didn’t have to deal with a weird dream setting me off. The run still didn’t feel great. I never really got into a good rhythm and had to keep holding myself back so that I’d have something left for Saturday. I’m too competitive for my own good. (I wanted to have a faster pace than Wednesday.) The end of the run was also harder than I thought. I’ll just chalk it up to being “one of those runs.”

Friday stationary bike
I was so sleepy! It made the ride way too hard. It’s been a while since I felt that way so I’m glad that I at least got it done. Hopefully I’ll figure out the sleep thing soon.

Saturday Reedy River 10k
It all started with a great night’s sleep. 🙂 This was an amazing race!

Sunday rest
After the race Saturday I felt like I could keep going, like I hadn’t worked all that hard. Then came Sunday. I definitely took advantage of the rest day.

Leave a comment

Filed under running

Leave a Reply

