Y2Y Half Marathon Week 6 Training Recap

I almost made it back to 40 miles this week and loved every step. Next week I start a mini taper since race week is less than 2 weeks away!

Monday 8 miles
Originally I had planned on intervals. I’d be inside anyway thanks to the downpour. Once at the gym, I thought better of the plan. It’s such a habit for me to do speedwork on Monday but since it’s always my first run after a long run (with a rest day in between) I think I’d be better served to save speedwork for later in the week. The run ended up working out just fine.

Tuesday stationary bike warm up + NTC
This was a decent NTC workout. I actually made it through with minimal modifications.

Wednesday 8 miles
This was an okay run. I think I slept wrong because my back felt a little off/tight. Thankfully it’s nothing serious. I also headed into this run with some soreness from Tuesday’s NTC workout. With those two factors in mind, I’m very pleased with my time.

Thursday 8 miles with half mile intervals
I wasn’t so sure about speedwork Thursday. I told myself to at least get to 6 and then I could run the remaining two miles at a steady pace. By the time I got to 6 miles, I forgot all about that and finished the full 8. I had hoped to run the intervals at 7.6 but I’m happy that I made it the full 8 at 7.5. I am thinking about shortening the distance for interval training and upping the speed since 7.5 is the pace I hope to maintain in the half marathon and I should be running these intervals at 5k or 10k pace.

Friday stationary bike
This was a decent ride that went by really quickly thanks to this month’s Runner’s World Issue. (I should learn to not read the Boston articles out in public. :D) I didn’t have to sprint at the end to get the above distance so maybe I am getting faster overall?

Saturday 14 miles
This was an incredibly tough run. I know what made it tough though and I’m already looking forward to the next time.

Sunday rest
Well enjoyed.

1 Comment

Filed under half marathon, running

One response to “Y2Y Half Marathon Week 6 Training Recap

  1. Pingback: Y2Y Half Marathon Training | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

