Running, a Retrospective

A few weeks ago, or maybe over a month, I had the “opportunity” to comb through all my recorded running data since I first started recording in early 2011.

It’s certainly easier to look at it that way rather than bemoan the massive loss of data on the garminconnect website. (There probably will be a post coming on my migration away from Garmin so that’s all I’ll say on that for now.)

Turns out, my slightly neurotic data nerd tendencies came in handy. It took a bit of time but I was able to cull all the relevant data from dailymile and input it on runkeeper.com.

The data that I entered went all the way back to the training for my second half marathon. (I didn’t record much of my training for my first half marathon.) That gave me the opportunity to look back on my running from when I was first getting started. It helped me realize just how far I’ve come.

For instance, while training for my first marathon, I managed just two other runs during the week. If I remember correctly, none of them were longer than 6 miles. Not only did I do that, but I also thought that 16 miles would be an appropriate distance for the first long run of the training cycle. The longest I’d ever run in the recent weeks before that training cycle was the San Francisco First Half Marathon and that was after nearly three weeks off for international travel. It’s no wonder that I had such trouble with that run.

In fact, I’m surprised that I was able to make it through that training cycle without an injury much less that I was able to finish.

As I progress in my running career, I love having this data to look back on and see just how far I’ve come. It’s especially motivating now that I’m going for the big goals, the ones that require serious training like that little race coming up in a few days.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Running, a Retrospective

  1. Erica

    I really hate the new Garmin Connect website! I’ve been using RunningAhead.com since I started running. I really like their customizable dashboard and the ability to create my own custom reports. The best part…it’s 100% free if you go ad-supported but for $10/yr, you can go ad-free.

Leave a Reply

