Twin Cities Marathon Week 2 Training Recap

After a week “off,” training volume ramped up this week and it’ll just continue next week. I am super excited. These workouts are hard but so worth it.

Monday easy run with hill intervals at end
I felt great through this entire run. The hill repeats at the end were supposed to be 5 x 2 minutes but that required too much effort to arrange so I just did 5 hill repeats on my least favorite hill. Fittingly, each interval was harder than the last. The strides after the hill repeats were pretty fun too. I hit the lap button for each one to see my pace and had to laugh. The pace drop off was pretty funny.

Tuesday tempo run
This was the first tempo run that I’ve completed as a tempo run and not given in to the temptation of making it into intervals or taking a rest break. I didn’t quite get to a 7:20 pace but I kept pushing the pace the entire tempo run and managed negative splits (7:44, 7:36, 7:28) which isn’t quite what a tempo should be but I’ll take it. I know I did the best I could because by the time the last four minutes of the tempo portion rolled around I didn’t think I could run any faster. I loved this run.

Wednesday easy run
The training plan called for an easy run. I complied. I still loved this run and felt strong throughout. Of course, I wanted more but I stopped at forty minutes.

Thursday stationary bike at gym
I have no idea how I was able to get in 18 miles on this ride. I’ve never even come close to that before. It felt good to push the pace and it made the time go by quickly. That’s always a plus. Like usual, I really liked this ride.

Friday tempo run (hard!)
This tempo run was hard. I knew it would be going into the run. I was supposed to run 55 minutes at a 7:40 pace. I didn’t make that pace. If I were looking for excuses I could blame the heat and humidity (70 degrees with at least that much humidity). I’m not. I’m more than pleased with the effort I gave. I did not give in to the temptation to take a breather at the turn around point or at any other point during the run. I kept pushing even though it was really hard and I wasn’t making my paces. I’m pleased because I gave it my all. Maybe soon this humidity will go away?
(Tempo mile splits were: 8:06, 7:59, 7:50, 7:53, 8:00, 7:45…aka when it started to get light… and 8:00)

Saturday long run (longest in time and distance for months!)
This was one of my favorite runs, despite the weather.

Sunday rest
My calves were pretty tight when I woke up so I made sure to include plenty of stretching and compression sleeves on this rest day. Another big week lies ahead on the other side of a good night’s sleep.

Leave a comment

Filed under marathon, running

Leave a Reply

