Twin Cities Marathon Week 7 Training Recap

According to the original plan, this was going to be my biggest mileage week ever. As usual, plans change. I ended up with about 30-40% less but an answer and a plan. As I mentioned Thursday, it turns out that my knee issues come from a weak hamstring. I’m pretty sure that I caught it early enough to prevent a full-blown injury.

Monday easy run with fartlek intervals
I could tell this was going to be a different kind of training week. If my knee had cooperated, this would have been a perfect run because otherwise I felt great. Unfortunately, my knee was tight the whole time. It felt fine while walking and most of the rest of the day. I’m glad I have an answer now.

Tuesday stationary bike
I took it easy–trying to do this recovery thing right. I felt pretty good throughout the ride and did warm up drills afterwards. My knee felt almost normal. I’m pretty optimistic.

Wednesday 80 minutes easy
This was a difficult run, specifically mentally. I did a lot of praying (both before and during) because my desire is to be okay whatever happens. I had no tightening sensation in the knee. The best way I can describe how it felt is “weird.” There were times during the run that I felt completely normal. Other times different muscles in my right leg felt achey. Yet other times I felt (or imagined) twinges in the knee. Running never became painful but I don’t really know what to make of it. I do know that while doing WUDs (warm up drills) afterwards, my knee did not like the quad stretches. I stopped. I felt pretty low then and even more confused. I had no idea what to do then, hence the PT appointment and thankfully the answer.

Thursday Physical Therapy appointment
Not much more to say here…

Friday stationary bike
My head was in a weird place. I’m not the best with the whole “not obsessing” thing. The ride was fine, pretty good actually. The PT exercises after were “fun” and tough, in a good way. The next thing I need to work on is mental stamina.

Saturday long run
I’m definitely insane. After the week I’ve had plus 100%+ humidity, I headed inside. Another benefit? I could very easily pull the plug if I had knee issues. Thankfully, I had none. Also, the automatic 60 minute limit of the treadmill made it easy to break the run down into manageable chunks and provide an opportunity to get more water. The knee held up pretty well. There was no tightness or pain, just an awareness. I nixed the fast finish just in case. That was definitely a good idea. My legs were super tired during the last 60 minute segment. My form was not that great during the last 30 minutes either. Other notes from the run: I walked just over a minute at each half hour mark to chew my Gu chomps (and managed to leave the remainder at the gym…whoops). I did think about walking a minute per ten during the last thirty but I put the towel back up (to cover the time) and kept running. Even though this week did not turn out like I had hoped, this run was a big confidence boost.

Sunday rest
Definitely took advantage of that

1 Comment

Filed under marathon, running

One response to “Twin Cities Marathon Week 7 Training Recap

  1. Hey Jeni! Sounds like you’re training smart! Congratulations on Saturday’s long run – we’ll see you in October!

    -TCM Staff

Leave a Reply

