Off-Season Week Two

Since I am not training for anything at the moment (shocker…I know) I debated what to call these workout round-ups. For now I’m sticking with “off-season.”

This week was “full” of easy runs and no structured workouts. I kind of enjoyed it. I didn’t enjoy it enough to keep it up. I’m ready to get back into some solid base-building and strength training.

Monday easy run
This run felt pretty good, especially since there was no foot issue. I did start to feel a bit fatigued at the end of the run but that’s to be expected with the marathon only a week in the rear-view mirror.

Tuesday stationary bike + NTC
stationary bike: It’s been a few weeks since I’ve been on the bike and I felt it. 🙂 I did like the ride though. Hopefully I’ll be getting a lot more in the next few weeks.
NTC: It’s been even longer since I’ve done a full strength training workout. I’m surprised at how much I liked it. Hopefully this enthusiasm for strength training will continue. I knew it would make me sore but underestimated how much.

Wednesday easy run
My legs (glutes and hammys specifically) were pretty sore after Tuesday’s strength training. That made this run a bit of a slog but I actually enjoyed it.

Thursday stationary bike
Since I was still pretty sore following Tuesday’s strength training workout so I settled on an hour of easy riding instead. I’ve been battling an oncoming crummy feeling (most notably a super sore throat) so I took it easy.

Friday easy run
This was definitely the best run so far this week. I took it nice and easy. There was nothing extraordinarily good or bad about this run.

Saturday stationary bike + NTC
I totally meant to get in another ride and a bit of strength training. I kept forgetting things and then realized that I didn’t have to push myself to get this workout in.

Sunday rest
When you do it so much it doesn’t feel quite as “enjoyable.” 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under running

Leave a Reply

