Summer 2015 Week 6 Training Recap

This was a solid week of training. I’ve been keeping an eye on my knee and I don’t think it’s a problem, thankfully. It’s good to have another solid week of training under my belt.

Monday: recovery run with fartlek
It took a while for me to warm up. I had ambitious plans for the fartlek portion but after the warm up portion I thought better and dialed the speed back a bit. By the end I felt petty good, better than when I started.

Tuesday: tempo run
My legs did not have a lot of get up and go for this run thanks to a long day at work. (Most of the day on my feet and no lunch break) Other than that kind of tired, I feel pretty good. The tempo section was tough but I got it done.

Wednesday: recovery run
I expected to have my legs be more sluggish than they were. That’s a pleasant surprise. I felt strong throughout this run. I avoided looking at my pace and ran by effort. This was a good run.

Thursday: stationary bike + rowing machine
stationary bike: This ride went by really fast. I enjoyed it and threw a sprint on at the end.
rowing machine: I think I might be getting the hang of this. I was able to get into a good rhythm and get a little bit farther than last time.

Friday: interval run
My legs felt really tired throughout this run. I made it through the intervals. Hopefully my legs will be rested enough for Saturday’s long run.

Saturday: long run
When I started my legs were not pleased that I was making them work again. I figured that the entire run would be a slog. However, after a pit stop for Mom the sun was up farther and I felt much better. Running in daylight makes a huge difference. I focused on easy pace which ended up being a slower pace but still okay. Surprisingly, I felt the best during the moderate effort intervals near the end which included massive hill.

Sunday: rest
Nothing to recap here.

Leave a comment

Filed under running

Leave a Reply

