Summer 2015 Week 10 Training Recap

This was a much better overall week of training. To make things even better, I finally topped 40 miles for the first time this training cycle. Well, technically I reached 40.04 but still … I made it!

Monday easy run
I did not look at my Garmin once on this run. My legs protested from the get go, still a little sluggish/sore from the race. This ended up being a pretty good run, all things considered. It wasn’t pretty or fast but it was solid.

Tuesday tempo run
The AC was out at the gym. I don’t think I’ve ever sweat so much in my life. The tempo portion was extremely difficult. I almost relented. I got it done and hoped that the gym would get the AC fixed ASAP.

Wednesday recovery run
Despite the absolutely ridiculous humidity, I enjoyed this run. I kept it at an easy pace and know for sure that I did because I spent half of it talking to Mom. While my legs did not feel fresh, (to be expected after Tuesday’s tempo run) my stride felt good. I even resisted the urge to throw on a sprint at the end and kept it easy.

Thursday stationary bike + NTC Ab Burner
stationary bike: I loved this ride. The time went by really quickly and the faster pace felt easy.
NTC Ab Burner: I realized that just like with tough speed work sessions, I can push myself in strength training. I have an alarmingly weak core so I need to start pushing myself in that area. This NTC workout did not feel good in all the right ways.

Friday intervals
These intervals were crazy hard. I may have miscounted but I don’t think I did. My legs were more sluggish at the start than I expected but I made through and felt good at the end.

Saturday long run
75 degrees and 70+% humidity at 6:30 in the morning is ridiculous. That made the run a bit of a slog. Overall though it was a pretty good run. I felt pretty strong considering the weather and the tough run Friday. I ran in my new Target C9 tank and shorts. The tank is hands down my favorite running top ever. With weather like this I might just shell out for a couple more. The shorts rode up but I’m used to that with my Oiselle pair.

Sunday rest

Leave a comment

Filed under running

Leave a Reply

