Summer 2015 Week 11 Training Recap

If I had to pick a theme for this run it would be the weather. The heat and humidity are pretty much ridiculous. It’s clear that those two things are affecting my training but that’s par for the course when it comes to summer running in the south.

Monday easy run with hill intervals near end
This run felt so good, apart from the heat and humidity of course. My stride felt great and I felt strong throughout. I didn’t look at my Garmin once. I loved this run.

Tuesday tempo run
The tempo portion was challenging but not so challenging that I thought at any time that I couldn’t complete it. This was a good run overall.

Wednesday recovery run
The best way I can think of to describe this weather is thick and sticky. Mom added “sloggy” though I don’t think that’s a word. Apart from that, my legs felt a bit sluggish at the start as could be expected. I didn’t look at my Garmin and kept the effort easy.

Thursday stationary bike + NTC abs
stationary bike: This ride felt really good. I guess I had a lot to work out (mentally, emotionally,etc) because I was pedaling fairly hard and it felt really good.
NTC: Some of the moves felt just a tad easier than last week but I definitely still need to keep working towards stronger abs.

Friday interval run
The start of the run did not predict good results for the interval portion. My legs felt heavy and the warm up pace seemed more difficult than it should. The intervals were really tough but by the third one I had gotten the hang of it and the pace didn’t feel impossible.

Saturday long run
This was one of those “character building” runs. From the get go, my legs had very little if anything in the tank. Combine that with the pervasive ridiculous weather and you get the feeling of running on fumes. I also did not hydrate enough Friday. I got it done though.

Saturday rest

Leave a comment

Filed under running

Leave a Reply

