Red, White, and Blue Shoes 5k 2015 – Race Recap

Race #95
5k #40
Red, White, and Blue Shoes 5k #5

Spoiler alert: today was not my day unlike last year but definitely much like Sunrise last month. I have yet to figure out why I’m stuck on this plateau.

Back to the race…

Like last year, I woke up to brand new running gear, this time it was a Garmin vivoactive! Yes, I used new gear on race day but since Mom has had hers for a couple months, I’m fairly familiar with how it works. (Still very excited to try everything out though!)

We did not time our arrival at the race start very well and also had to pick up our bibs because I just didn’t feel like stopping by Timmons Arena yesterday after work. Thus, I did not have enough time for a full warm up. (I ended up with about 10 minutes instead of 20.) I also was not able to get as far towards the start as I would have liked.

A few minutes after 8 we were off. This year the cannon worked.

The start is crazy crowded, way too crowded. I stand by my belief that it is possible to carefully navigate those early few meters until things start to sort out without stepping on someone else. That is not what happened to me. About a hundred meters from the start someone bumped into me in such a way that they pushed my left foot (my right foot was the one striking the pavement at the time) into the back of my right calf. I seriously almost went down and was extremely ticked.

Thankfully that was the worst of it.

People quickly spread out and I was soon up to pace. I felt pretty good but could already tell that it was likely to be a battle. Even though the rain held off I wish it had let it all out and gotten all the water out of the air. The humidity was ridiculous. I felt mentally strong through this mile and kept pushing. I entertained thoughts of trying to negative split this race and made 7:00 flat my goal for the first mile. Soon into the mile I made my goal holding 7:00 flat for the entire thing.

Mile 1: 7:00 (right on the money)

The first part of the second mile still went according to plan. That mile felt interminably long though. As each tenth of a mile passed, the pace I was trying to hold grew harder. For some reason I didn’t even try to come up with a mantra to hang onto and keep pushing. Looking back I wonder why I gave up, mentally, so easily. I think this may be part of why I’ve been stuck in a plateau this summer, the so called Summer of Speed.

Mile 2: 7:15 (still salvageable)

Then came the hill behind McAlister Auditorium. I had nothing left and I didn’t even try to force myself to come up with a mantra. My legs felt like they had nothing to give. As I look back I realize that I didn’t even try to push up that hill. It’s almost as if my competitive drive had switched off for some reason.

I didn’t want to see what my pace was. Since I haven’t figured out how to turn the vivoactive screen to just a clock (it’s probably fairly simple) I avoided looking at it all together. I tried to keep pushing though.

I really hate the final hill before we make the second to last left turn. I really wish we would enter the stadium from the other side instead of having to go up this hill.

I got to the top of that hill and tried to increase my pace. There was another woman near me that I thought may or may not be in my age group. The initial debate in my head ended with being okay with not chasing and beating her.

Mile 3: 7:47 (positive splitting like a champ!)

Then my competitive nature kicked in and right as we made the final turn into the stadium I poured on the full sprint. (Turns out she was in my old age group.) By the way I still had plenty left in the tank for that print I know that a big part of my trouble with racing this summer is mental. I went into this race defeated. I know I could have given more in this race but I’m not beating myself up about it.

.10: 5:07 (hah! that felt good)

22:23 officially

Then came time for results. I love the racemine site that go-green timing uses.

All the speedy people must have stayed away (or gone down to Atlanta for Peachtree) because even with the lackluster race I snagged 3rd in my new age group and 24th woman overall.

Mom had a little more difficulty today but that’s what she gets for going to California on vacation and not taking me. 😉

Even with not running for a week she still did really well: 25:18 officially.

Red, White and Blue Shoes 5k 2015

We were both really confused though because the results said that she came in 16th in her age group but then I couldn’t find her in the Female 55-59 division. I checked it again and kept scrolling over on the results. Whoops. When I registered, I registered her as male. I still laugh at that.

That gave me a chance to test the results corrections link on the racemine site. Amazing. I submitted the necessary information and by the time we got home it was fixed!

I really love this new tradition of starting my birthday with a race.

Red, White and Blue Shoes 5k 2015

It’s almost time to start marathon training!

1 Comment

Filed under race recaps, running

One response to “Red, White, and Blue Shoes 5k 2015 – Race Recap

  1. Pingback: Summer 2015 Week 12 Training Recap | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

