Chicago Marathon Week 6 Training Recap

Back over 40 miles again! I loved all my training runs and am looking forward to finally getting to run on the Swamp Rabbit Trail next Saturday. (Oh, and not having to get up before 5 on a Saturday morning.)

Monday easy run
This run went surprisingly well. At first I felt a bit sluggish but I warmed up quickly and felt strong throughout.

Tuesday tempo run
It took a while to get into this run mentally. After that the run went by fairly quickly. My stride felt good but I was counting down the minutes until the tempo portion was finished.

Wednesday recovery run
It took me a very long time to warm up on this run. My legs felt the work of the past few days but not more so than usual. I was more tired than normal this morning so that definitely played a factor. What those two things combined for was perfect negative splits.

Thursday stationary bike + NTC Ab Burner
stationary bike: This was another good ride that went by quickly.
NTC Ab Burner: Even though I really dislike strength training, it’s pretty cool to see improvements. I can definitely tell that I’m stronger than when I started doing this routine a few weeks ago. I pushed as hard as I could and could definitely feel it on the last round. (There are three rounds in the NTC workout we do.)

Friday interval run
When I started this run I seriously wondered if I would be able to complete the intervals as prescribed. Thankfully the warm up served its purpose. I almost lost track of how many intervals I had completed but other than that I felt good throughout. These intervals were tough but not too much so.

Saturday long run
I was not expecting to have this good of a long run. I felt good throughout the entire run. My splits with a couple exceptions were almost exactly the same the entire time. Mile seven was a little slower than I wanted but that’s because it was like a restart. I ran 30 minutes out and back, dropped off my headlamp, and met mom to run with her for the rest of the time. At the end of the run I picked up my pace just a little because I wanted to get to 14.5. Mom said that my stride looked exactly the same, but it didn’t look like I was putting any effort into picking up my speed. That’s encouraging.

Sunday rest
This was much enjoyed.

1 Comment

Filed under marathon, running

One response to “Chicago Marathon Week 6 Training Recap

  1. Great job on your training. Looks like your running in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

