Chicago Marathon Week 7 Training Recap

This week was a cut back week of sort. The mileage still increased but I did not do any dedicated speedwork sessions. I like that kind of cut back week.

Monday easy run with short hill intervals
It took me a while to get moving this morning even before the run. Besides that I felt pretty good on this run. My pace for the first half was slower than I wanted but I tried to pick it up. For whatever reason it is ridiculously difficult for me to accurately judge my pace when it’s dark. I need to work on that. For the last two miles, while the sun was finally coming up. My stride felt awesome and a slightly faster pace felt easier than my pace of the first four miles. Go figure.

Tuesday recovery/easy run
Since I opened at work Tuesday instead of Wednesday I had to switch those runs. I loved this run. I felt strong, like I could keep going for a while.

Wednesday easy run (longer)
My pace on this run was at the bottom of the range that I hope for with easy runs. However, given the horrible humidity I’ll take it. I’m still working on becoming a better judge of my pace in the dark. That will also help.

Thursday stationary bike and NTC Ab Burner
stationary bike: This ride was good although tempered by hunger and thirst. I don’t normally bring water with me on cross training days but I might start doing that now.
NTC Ab Burner: I was hungry and thirsty enough that I knew I couldn’t give strength training any decent effort so I opted to skip it this time and get home to get some breakfast.

Friday easy run
I really enjoyed this run. Waking up and getting out the door was hard but once I got started on the run I felt great. (Not counting the time I accidentally swiped a spider web taking the whole thing with me for a few steps.) My pace was exactly where I wanted it to be and most importantly that pace felt easy.

Saturday long run
This went way better than I expected. I guess I set the bar fairly low when it comes to long runs. I felt strong throughout. The pace felt unexpectedly easy. I did make a rookie mistake when it came to my Garmin. I meant to charge it Friday night and totally forgot. So, around mile nine I got a low battery alert. I then spent the next mile scrambling to figure out what I was going to do. I ended up saving the run that I had so far on the Garmin and then switching to run keeper so that I could still have the watch face of the Garmin to figure out when I needed to turn around as well as when I needed to start and stop the five-minute moderately hard intervals at the end. That worked out fairly well. Those intervals though, were tough but I love them. I had no idea that I was going to get close to 18 miles!

Sunday rest
My calves definitely felt the longer distance so I rocked the calf sleeves and enjoyed the off day.

Leave a comment

Filed under marathon, running

Leave a Reply

