Rehab/Recovery Week Four

At the beginning of this week I thought for sure that I would be moving on from rehab/recovery into what I would tentatively be naming “recovery/rebuilding.” However, Saturday’s hard effort was a little too much for my knee/leg at the moment so I, unfortunately, have taken a step backwards in the recovery process. As with everything, I learned a good lesson with Saturday. I just wish that I could have learned it without the backwards progress.

Day 21, Monday October 26, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: The leg felt normal but I woke at an inopportune time during a dream which set me a bit off-kilter.
Workout assessment:
Run: This was the best run in a very long time. Everything felt perfect, except for the humidity. Mom ran behind me at one point and observed that my stride looked great. My core felt strong.
PT homework: Holding the side plank for seven seconds felt ridiculously hard. Other than that, everything went well.
Post-workout assessment: Great! Strong! Normal!
EOD assessment: Nothing stood out as unusual. I’ll take that as a good sign.

Day 22, Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: Apparently I moved around a lot while I slept but thankfully I did not have the same experience as Monday.
Workout assessment:
Stationary bike: The right knee felt a bit stiff at times but nothing significant. I pushed the pace but it ended up being a little slower than last Thursday.
NTC ab burner: This workout has become more than routine. I still tried to push. Other than that there was nothing remarkable about the workout. My core felt really strong during the planks.
PT homework: I felt really good through all of it. My core felt really strong and stable on the leg extensions. I planned to ask about increasing the difficulty at the next appointment.
Post-workout assessment: I felt good and strong. I like this.
EOD assessment: My right knee does not like my work chair after I’ve been sitting for a while. It’s a little stiff when I first get up. Other than that everything was awesome.

Day 23, Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: I felt good, normal.
Workout assessment:
Run: The only two negative things about this run was the 25 minutes it took to for my iPad to connect to the gym’s wi-fi and the rain that forced us inside. My stride felt great. I felt strong, especially for having to run on the treadmill without any distractions.
PT homework: The side planks felt a tad harder. Maybe I was holding them longer accidentally? I felt ridiculously stable on the leg extensions. Starting Friday I will add the arm extension.
Post-workout assessment: I felt fit and strong!
EOD assessment: Everything felt totally fine.

Day 24, Thursday, October 29, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: Other than NPR having dead air aka no alarm, everything felt great.
Workout assessment:
Stationary bike: This was an excellent ride. I had some stiffness on the outside of the nee but nothing significant.
NTC ab burner: I pushed as hard as I could and loved it.
Post-workout assessment: Everything felt great and normal.
PT appointment: The appointment went really well. The PT was impressed with my improvement. Goes to show what completing your homework as prescribed will do. My hip stretch angle is not quite where it needs to be but it is much improved about 10 degrees for both legs. I also had noticeable improvement on hip adductor strength (got a little shout of surprise with that one) and stability on leg extensions. As far as running, the PT recommended that I use the next 5 weeks to build back up to a base of 35-45 mpw and then dive back into marathon training.
EOD assessment: My leg muscles were sore, likely from the new exercise added – walking lunges with a small kettle bell.

Day 25, Friday, October 30, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: I felt pretty good, a little sore.
Workout assessment:
Run: I felt really strong but super sore. At one point the right knee, above it really, felt a little odd but not for very long.
PT homework: I skipped the lunges because my legs were crazy sore from the walking lunges Thursday. I added arm extensions and tried to concentrate on maintaining stability.
Post-workout assessment: Super sore (in a good way)!
EOD assessment: I think I felt fine except for the soreness but I forgot to write until late on Saturday.

Day 26, October 31, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: I still felt super sore but felt nothing odd with the right knee.
Workout assessment:
Downtown 10k: I had so much fun. I felt strong through the race and tried to remember to maintain good form but I know that I wasn’t successful the whole time. I don’t remember any aches during the race but definitely noticed it after.
Post-workout assessment: I spent most of the rest of the day trying not to freak out. Maybe I pushed too hard? I did not perform any PT homework because of soreness and the time crunch. I did make sure to stretch and foam roll.
EOD assessment: I felt ridiculously sore, still. The afternoon and evening was mentally rough. I still have more flexibility than when I started the recovery process but the knee was crazy stiff after I got up from the chair (after sitting for 3+ hours). I have to admit that immediately I thought “I injured it again.”

Day 27, Sunday, November 1, 2015
Morning assessment: I was not as sore when I got up as I thought I was while still laying in bed after starting to hit the snooze button. My left hamstring is actually the most sore. My calves were sore too so I wore calf sleeves for some time in the morning before church and planned to wear the thigh sleeve in the afternoon.
EOD assessment: Everything felt much better than Sunday but I couldn’t shake the feeling that something was wrong with the leg. I think everything’s still okay but…

After Monday’s run which I cut 10 minutes short (to be recapped next week), I was sure that I had re-injured the knee and emailed the PT to ask for his recommendations. I am definitely frustrated and probably took a step back in the recovery process but also probably did not re-injure the hamstring. Hopefully my recovery journal will start sounding like the beginning of this week soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under recovery, running

Leave a Reply

