Rehab/Recovery Week 5

I have a tendency towards pessimism. I used to call it being realistic but let’s call it what it is. It’s just so much easier to let my expectations fall to the absolute bottom. That way they are easily exceeded. I say all this because my “mild” freak out last weekend was totally overblown. I’m very relieved. Training went really well overall this week. I’m looking forward to shifting into a base building mode.

Day Twenty-Eight, Monday, November 2, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: I felt some slight soreness and was hype-cautious.
Workout assessment:
Run: It started with the lunge matrix. While performing the side and diagonal-back lunges I felt a twinge on the outer portion of the right knee. Once I started the run I could feel an ache (not pain) on the outside of my right knee. I had Mom check my form. She said it looked good and even. My stride felt normal but I couldn’t get over the ache (maybe 1-2 on the pain scale) so I cut the run down to 35 minutes.
Post-workout assessment: I was a mental mess afterwards. I was sure that I had re-injured the hamstring. I emailed the PT and texted my coach. Surprisingly, my leg felt better after the run than before. The PT did not seem worried at all. He speculated that it was just extra stress from the race and that cutting the run short was the right idea. He also suggested 5 minutes or so of self-massage of the area to work out any remaining pain.
EOD assessment: The massage felt good. I found and worked through some hot spots. Certain areas still felt achey but my stride was normal. I hope to get back to how I felt at the beginning of last week soon.

Day Twenty-Nine, Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: I woke up a few minutes before my alarm, again. I was cautious while getting up. This felt normal.
Workout assessment:
Stationary bike: I pushed hard and loved it. I could feel some ache on the outside of the right knee but it felt more like the muscles had been overworked, a kind of soreness.
NTC ab burner: I pushed as hard as I could and felt the burn. I felt strong too.
PT homework: The bridges felt hard but good. I felt really steady and strong on the side planks. I need to work on stability now that I’ve added the arm to the arm/leg extensions.
Post-workout assessment: All lingering soreness from the walking lunges last Thursday is gone. Finally. I felt a lot closer to normal. My right leg still felt a bit achey, like it’s been overworked not injured.
EOD assessment: So normal, it’s ridiculous.

Day Thirty, Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: Everything felt normal. I was cautious.
Workout assessment:
Run: The first test was the lunge matrix. Everything felt normal. Yay! My right knee felt slightly tight during the first few minutes of the run but it warmed up after that. Everything felt really good through the entire run. I forgot to get Mom to check my stride but I’m pretty sure it was even. It felt that way. I think the biggest hurdle now will be getting my endurance back.
Post-workout assessment: Everything continues to feel good and make me feel like a bit of a fool for my weekend/Monday freakout. I do still have some tenderness near the fibular head on the right leg but only when I press. Everything else feels great.
EOD assessment: Not bad. The leg felt a bit achey all day. I probably poked and prodded (“self-massage”) too much.

Day Thirty-One, Thursday, November 5, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: I felt pretty normal, although a bit stiff upon waking
Workout assessment:
Stationary bike: The ride was pretty good. My right leg felt achey throughout but nothing bad. I felt strong and pushed the pace. I do wonder about the achey-ness. (I’m pretty sure that’s not a word.)
NTC ab burner: For some reason this felt a little more difficult this time but I still pushed as hard as I could.
PT homework: The bridges felt really hard. I did notice improvement with the stability of the arm/leg extensions
Post-workout assessment: I felt really good. The right side of the right leg still feels a bit achey but it doesn’t interfere with my stride.
EOD assessment: Feeling back to completely normal!

Day Thirty-Two, Friday, November 6, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: Completely normal. Yay!
Workout assessment:
Run: I almost forgot to do the lunge matrix but squeezed it in just in time. For the first 20 minutes or so, everything felt perfect. During the remainder, the outer right leg and glute felt achey and/or tight but no pain. As far as I could tel my stride remained unaffected. My hypothesis is this. Now that I have strengthened and am continuing to strengthen my glutes, hips and core, my stride is now working the muscles in my right leg how they should have been all along and the muscles are sore from this “new” use.
Post-workout assessment: Completely normal! Maybe a hint of residual ache but no stiffness. Normal stride.
EOD assessment: Absolutely normal! I had no stiffness or aches whatsoever.

Day Thirty-Three, Saturday, November 7, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: Really bad sore throat. I did not want to get up. Other than the throat, the leg felt normal, good.
Workout assessment:
Run: Everything felt really good, no soreness or aches. I did get super sweaty because I had to run inside at home thanks to the rain. I felt really strong.
Post-workout assessment: I had no soreness or aches. I felt really good, normal.
EOD assessment: I felt pretty good throughout the day. I had some tightness and soreness in the outer right knee/leg area towards the end of the day.

Day Thirty-Four, Sunday, November 8, 2015
AM assessment: I felt normal except for the next stage in the cold. (some sore throat and some sinus drainage)
EOD assessment: I’ve felt pretty good throughout the day. My stride has felt good. Some areas on the outer right leg around the knee are a bit tender and stiff but other than that I’ve felt really good.

1 Comment

Filed under recovery, running

One response to “Rehab/Recovery Week 5

  1. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and
    engaging, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something not enough folks are speaking intelligently
    about. Now i’m very happy that I came across this in my hunt
    for something regarding this.

Leave a Reply

