Recovery/Rebuilding Week 2

This was a much better week overall. It’s nice when normal days get strung in a row. I’m almost ready to drop back to my normal workout/training recaps.

Day 42, Monday, November 16, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: My right knee felt a little stiff. The left ankle felt okay but I was “aware” of the sensation.
Workout assessment:
Run: This run was not fun. At the start my right knee was a little tight but warmed up. I could “feel” the left ankle but think it might just be a bruise of some sort. My legs did not have any sort of pep in them. As the run progressed the right knee felt like it was tightening so I increased my focus on making sure that my form was still good. Most of the run was mentally difficult. The cool down walk went fine.
Post-workout assessment: My right knee felt really, really tight for most of the morning. Stretching seemed to help. I felt frustrated. I knew it’s because this was my second day of running in a row, the first being the long run.
EOD assessment: I think the ankle thing is linked to tight calves. I wore all my compression sleeves for a couple hours and felt almost normal after. I feel frustrated with the slow pace of recovery and almost like it’s two steps forward, one step back.

Day 43, Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: I felt normal for the most part. The left ankle/calf thing feels more like a bruise than a muslce/etc thing. It doesn’t interfere with my stride.
Workout assessment:
stationary bike: I could feel the left ankle/calf thing at first but after a couple minutes all niggles and etc went away. I pushed hard.
NTC ab burner: I pushed harder than last week and could tell because it was harder to talk while completing the exercises. It might be time to think about switching it up.
PT homework: The walking lunges and bridges felt tough fromt he start in a good way. The side planks were tough too because I extended the hold to ten seconds. I think it’s almost time to add the leg lift.
Post-workout assessment: I felt almost completely normal.
EOD assessment: I felt normal, nothing noteworthy.

Day 44, Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: I felt good, normal but a tad sleepy.
Workout assessment:
Run: I easily remembered the lunge matrix. Mentally it was a little tough because for some reason I just didn’t feel like running. Physically I felt great. I could feel the bruise like sensation on the left ankle but only for the first couple minutes. My stride felt spectacular. Towards the end I might have had a tad of tightness in the right leg but it didn’t affect the stride at all.
Post-workout assessment: I felt really good. I made sure to stretch (but forgot to foam roll) even though I was extremely crunche don time.
EOD assessment: Apart from slamming my finger in the car door, I felt great.

Day 45, Thursday, November 18, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: Aside from the throbbing finger, great.
Workout assessment:
Stationary bike: I was distracted and caught up in emotions (long story.) It felt good to push hard. I good a good speed going and felt great throughout.
NTC ab burner: The distraction did not make me push hard. I don’t remember much.
PT homework: The lunges and bridges were still hard.
Post-workout assessment: Normal! Great! Strong!
EOD assessment: Normal and love it!

Day 46, Friday, November 19, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: Normal 🙂
Workout assessment:
Run: Everything about this run felt perfect. My stride felt strong and even. The tempo intervals were tough but only slightly.
Post-workout assessment: The best and most normal I’ve felt after a run in a long time.
EOD assessment:Really good.

Day 47, Saturday, November 20, 2015
Pre-workout assessment: I felt sleepy but good.
Workout assessment:
Run: For the most part I felt good. Without Mom I ended up running a little slower. Mys tride felt great throughout. I did start to get some tightness in my right knee with half an hour to go. It wasn’t too bad throughout.
Post-workout assessment: I felt pretty good after. I did get some tightness a couple hours later, likely due to the chair at work and the awkward angles.
EOD assessment: Overall the knee felt pretty tight but I did my best not to stress.

Day 48, Sunday, November 21, 2015
AM assessment: I felt almost completely normal upon waking and throughout the morning.
EOD assessment: I had some occasional mild stiffness but overall felt normal and had an even stride.

Leave a comment

Filed under recovery, running, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

