Recovery/Rebuilding Week 3

It’s felt like a long tunnel (though I know that in the grand scheme of things it was really short) but I think I’m finally coming out the other side.

I’ve altered the structure of the recovery journal to reflect the improvement and will just be documenting overall observations rather than the detailed breakdown.

Day 49, Monday, November 23, 2015
I woke up before my alarm again but otherwise I felt good. My legs felt a big sluggish at the start of the run but they warmed up fairly quickly. My stride felt good and even. I did “feel” the knee towards the end but it didn’t interfere. Afterwards, everything felt great too, some stiffness but nothing extraordinary.

Day 50, Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Despite waking up before my alarm yet again, I felt pretty good. I goofed on the schedule though which was different because of the race Thursday and arrived at the gym all set up for cross-training. Thankfully, I have the best mom in the world who went home to grab my running gear for me. I rode a little while on the stationary bike while she did that. The run went fairly well. I ran without my iPad aka no distraction. That went well. I could feel my knee off and on but my stride was nice and even. Afterwards, I still felt good but had some mild tightness.

Day 51, Wednesday, November 25, 2015
I wok up feeling good. The ride went well. I might have had a little tightness in the right leg but nothing significantly noticeable. I didn’t push as hard on the abs. I definitely think that it’s time to switch it up. I skipped the walking lunges because of the race the next day. Afterwards, everything felt pretty good.

Day 52, Thursday, November 26, 2015
I woke up feeling good. Everything felt normal throughout the warm up. I let Mom dictate the pace. It felt comfortable, definitely not racing. The right leg felt good throughout but towards the end I did start ot feel the odd “hot spot” on my right big toe. I keep thinking that I’m going to see the start of a blister when I take my sock off but there’s nothing like that. Afterwards I had a little bit of tightness in the right leg but nothing significant.

Day 53, Friday, November 27, 2015
Since the gym was closed until 8 (still ridiculous) I indulged in some snooze button repeats and felt great overall. The leg still feels good.

Day 54, Saturday, November 28, 2015
I woke up in the midst of some weird dreams but otherwise I felt good. The run went well but way slower than I expected. My legs had very little energy. I also felt some soreness in my right glute through about half of the run. I also still had the odd hot spot on my right big toe. Other than that my stride felt great and afterwards (aside from the toe) I still felt good.

Day 55, Sunday, November 29, 2015
There’s not much to say about feeling completely normal on a rest day.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

