Recovery/Rebuilding Week 4

This week could also be titled “The One with the Unexplained Back Issues.” It was not fun. Hopefully it’s all over now.

Day 55, Monday, November 30, 2015
I woke up feeling great. Although I was not a fan of the rain that sent me inside, the run went well. My stride felt even and strong. I didn’t have any major issues with my right leg although the hot spot on my right big toe reared its head towards the end. I felt good, really good, through the whole thing and even afterwards. I had no tightness or stiffness.

Day 56, Tuesday, December 1, 2015
I almost talked myself into a schedule switch. I did not feel like running at all. Apart from that the run itself went pretty well. My stride felt strong and even. I had no knee or glute issues. The big toe, on the other hand, I could feel the “hot spot” (for lack of a better word) when my pace slowed for the cool down portion. I really want to figure out what it is/was. Afterwards I had some mild tightness but nothing significant.

Day 57, Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Out of the blue, lower back pain right near the pelvis has become an issue. The workouts went fine. I didn’t feel the back at all while on the bike. As soon as I stepped off though… . It also kept me from going up to 10 lbs in weight on the medicine ball for the ab workout. Afterwards the ache (in the back) kept growing. It’s like nothing I’ve ever dealt with. To say that I am/have been frustrated would be an understatement.

Day 58, Thursday, December 3, 2015
The back thing definitely got worse. I woke up a couple times in the night. When I got up in the morning it didn’t ache but was tight enough that I had to sit on the floor to get my socks on. I knocked 10 minutes off the run to be on the safe side. I was constantly aware of my back but my stride was unaffected. I did have a couple spasm moments when starting back from a stop, like at the couple stoplights we got stopped at. Afterwards I stretched and prayed but it seemed to be getting tighter with every passing minute. Throughout the day I tried to stay calm, get in plenty of stretching and tried a few things I could think of to help alleviate the pain/tightness. Towards the end of the day it did start to finally let up.

Day 59, Friday, December 4, 2015
I tried sleeping on my side with another pillow under me to keep my spine straighter than my sagging mattress would keep me. (I have purchased a new mattress.) I think it helped. I woke feeling a little creaky and waiting for the other shoe to drop. I did take the day off (it would have been crosstraining) and felt completely normal. With all the things I tried Thursday, plus not working out Friday, I have no idea which thing actually helped or if this was just a two day thing that went away on its own.

Day 60, Saturday, December 5, 2015
I woke up feeling normal. The race went well too. I did have some mild soreness in my low back around mile 4, just after the summit, but it went away quickly. Afterwards I had some mild temporary tightness in my right leg but it resolved itself quickly. My back felt normal.

Day 61, Sunday, December 6, 2015
I woke up feeling a bit stiff and sore but in a “hard race the previous day” sort of way. If I stay in one position for too long I feel sort of creaky but that’s to be expected with Saturday’s race. The leg and back felt fine throughout the day.

Leave a comment

Filed under race recaps, running, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

