Tobacco Road Marathon Week 2 Training Recap

Once again, this was not quite the week I had expected. Things are leaning towards leaving a BQ attempt for another time. I might just be ready for a year of “easy” running.

Monday, December 21, 2015
This run went fairly well. I was a little nervous before the run because I got a little into my head Sunday. I felt strong and concentrated on keeping my stride even and normal. I could “feel” my knee on occasion throughout the run but nothing that interfered or affected my stride. Afterwards I felt good. I wore the thigh compression sleeve for a few hours in the morning. I think it helped. The leg/knee felt normal throughout the day and not as tight as I expected it might be. I don’t know what caused this “step back” but I think I’m still okay. My glutes felt a little sore too.

Tuesday, December 22, 2015
I woke up feeling more tired than when I went to bed. It was a struggle to get to the gym. My glutes (both sides) were still sore. I was going to try to get 45 minutes on the bike (no ab work today) but partway through I knew that it would be counterproductive to keep going so I rode just the normal 30 minutes and felt okay, really tired. I came home and took a mini nap for 10 minutes and felt way better. My leg felt fairly normal through the day, off and on a bit stiff but nothing out of the ordinary.

Wednesday, December 23, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised by this run for the most part. I had another “off” night of sleep but other than that woke feeling pretty good. As has become a new norm, I was a little nervous before starting the run. For the first few minutes I felt occasional “odd” sensations in the right leg but after a warm up period I did not feel anything off. In fact, my stride felt strong, even and normal. My fitness level on the other hand, is not where I would like it to be. This was supposed to be a tempo run of 40 minutes at an 8 minute pace. About 6 minutes in I knew that it would be extremely difficult to keep it up so I modified it and did intervals of 9 minutes at 8 minute pace. (The first one was 10 minutes.) This was definitely the right decision. The intervals were rather tough but ultimately doable. Afterwards I feel pretty good. I wore the thigh compression sleeve for an hour or so as a precaution. The leg felt great throughout the day except for occasions where it felt odd. I think that might just be all in my head but who knows.

Thursday, December 24, 2015
I didn’t wake up quite as tired as Tuesday but I got there halfway through the ride. At least now I know what is making me so tired and it’s just temporary. I want to figure out how to counter this if this is going to become a new monthly thing. I pushed harder during the first part of the ride but after I started to get really sleepy, it was all I could do to keep going. The leg, thankfully, felt fine. Afterwards, I’ve felt pretty good all day.

Friday, December 25, 2015
It ended up working out better to do the shorter run Friday and “saving” the long run for ridiculously early Saturday. I actually felt really good and strong throughout the run. My stride felt normal and strong. I probably could have run a little harder on the 6 minute-long hard intervals but they still felt difficult. Afterwards I feel great. I wore the thigh compression sleeve for a little bit. I did have some odd tightness but nothing significant. I think a good portion of it is in my head.

Saturday, December 26, 2015
I had to cut off 10 minutes from the run and ended up having just enough time to get it done. The run itself felt really good. Granted, I did feel like I was running a bit faster than my average pace netted out to. My stride felt great. The right leg felt completely normal. The weirdness/mental battle comes after. Immediately afterwards I still feel completely normal. I did wear both the thigh sleeve and the pair of calf compression sleeves. (I’ve noticed that my calves have been a little tight lately.) For the most part everything felt normal. I did feel a bit stiff after sitting for a couple hours. In the afternoon, the knee didn’t hurt exactly but I did notice sensitivity in the distal part of the hamstring, the same part that the PT said was strained. I still can’t tell if this is all in my head or if I’m starting back down the road to injury again. It’s a bit frustrating but I’m trying to take it one day at a time.

Sunday, December 27, 2015
I woke up feeling good and ready to milk the rest day for all it’s worth. It ended up being a good day with everything feeling perfectly normal, great way to end the week.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

