Tobacco Road Marathon Week 3 Training Recap

I think a lot of my struggles lately have been mental. This week went much better than the last. I think I might actually end up enjoying this training cycle.

Monday, December 28, 2015
Despite it being short, I slept well and woke fairly refreshed. The run went well. My knee/leg felt a little creaky at the start but after a few minutes to warm up, it didn’t bother me for the rest of the run. I made sure to focus on pulling my stomach in for good posture and form. Afterwards I felt pretty good and the only time that my leg/knee got a bit stiff was after sitting in my work chair for extended periods of time. I’m pretty sure now that my leg/knee does not like the chair/position that my workstation set up forces me to use.

Tuesday, December 29, 2015
I had a headache (behind my left eye to be specific) Monday night that lasted through the morning. I did not feel much like pushing it on either the strength training or stationary bike. Apart from the headache I felt pretty good.

Wednesday, December 30, 2015
This run went really well. I woke up feeling great. The tempo intervals were tough but doable (barely) and my stride felt strong and even. Afterwards everything still felt great, no stiffness or tightness.

Thursday, December 31, 2015
Today was all about the strength training. We did the same routine as we did a couple weeks ago. This time Mom and I didn’t need as much instruction so we were able to alternate machines and get several more reps and a couple more exercises in than the previous session. I have a feeling that unlike a couple weeks ago, I will be a bit sore this time. I look forward to increasing the weight on all of the machines because I had to keep them ridiculously light.

Friday, January 1, 2015
This run went remarkably well. We didn’t get started until a little later than I imagined but that didn’t matter. I felt strong throughout the run even around the halfway point when my muscles started reminding me that I did a bunch of strength training Thursday. My stride was strong and even through the entire run. It was five minutes shorter than I planned because I couldn’t figure out a way to finagle my route to get it in. Afterwards I felt really good. I wore the thigh compression sleeve as a precaution but I think it might be making the knee a little stiff and tight afterwards so I’ll focus on other stretches instead.

Saturday, January 2, 2016
My muscles were still a bit sore from the run Friday and strength training Thursday but the run went alright, nothing too remarkable either way. My knee felt a bit tight/stiff but nothing bad. Afterwards I wore the compression sleeve but I might stop because my knee felt tighter with it on than off. I also wore the calf sleeves which I think did help. I think I need to focus more on stretching my calves. Overall I felt pretty good and think this has been a good week of training.

Sunday, January 3, 2016
I definitely enjoyed my rest day and felt great throughout the entire day.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

