Tobacco Road Marathon Week 4 Training Recap

Aside from a touch of calf pain during the half on Saturday, this was a really good, strong week.

Monday, January 4, 2016
This run went really well. I felt good and strong and wished that I didn’t have to run 10 minutes less thanks to having to get to work on time. (It’s almost impossible for me to squeeze in runs longer than 45 minutes on days when I have to go in early.) Everything, stride and all, did really feel great. I meant to wear calf compression sleeves but in my haste forgot to put them on. Everything feels fine afterwards although I’m certain that my leg does not appreciate the extremely odd angle that I have to sit at thanks to poor design. (That’s a whole other ball of wax.)

Tuesday, January 5, 2016
I’m starting to really like the new strength training routine. I’m becoming more familiar with the individual exercises and the order to do them in. Thus, transition time is lessening and we’re getting more exercises in which definitely helps with feeling the burn. Afterwards I felt really good, strong.

Wednesday, January 6, 2016
These short and fast intervals went even better than last time. I started them a little slower than goal pace and gradually worked up to it. The rest intervals were a bit faster too, only a few steps walking to catch my breath. The intervals at the fastest speed didn’t even feel too difficult. They were hard but I felt like I might be able to go a little faster, for 200m of course. My stride felt strong and even. Afterwards everything felt completely normal. I did wear the calf compression sleeves for a little while as well.

Thursday, January 7, 2016
This ride went really well and passed rather quickly. I felt great throughout and loved pushing the pace. I definitely could have ridden longer. When I moved to the ab workout, I could definitely feel some soreness from Tuesday’s routine. I hadn’t planned to push hard but that’s what I ended up doing. I could feel the burn. Overall I felt great.

Friday, January 8, 2016
This run was nice and easy just as prescribed. I wanted to go faster but I’ll save that for the half tomorrow. My stride felt awesome. Everything about this run went perfectly. I’m thankful that running finally feels normal again.

Saturday, January 9, 2016
Resolution Run Half Marathon
This run exceeded my expectations. See the blog post for more details. I will mention again here, the odd calf pain. It still feels a bit tight and I have no idea why it acted the way that it did. I’m hoping that it’s just a one off because I’m more than ready to get back to normal running. Afterwards I stretched, foam rolled and wore the calf compression sleeves and felt fairly normal.

Sunday, January 10, 2016
I have to admit that I got a bit in my head about the calf tightness. I’m hoping that it’s nothing but I was aware of it throughout the day. Otherwise I felt good, normal.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

