Tobacco Road Marathon Week 5 Training Recap

Monday, January 11, 2016
I’m not sure what to make of this run. For the most part my stride felt fine. Towards the end though I started to feel this weird ache on the outside of my right leg unlike what I’ve felt before. Hopefully it’s nothing. Afterwards, everything felt fine. I wore the compression sleeves and felt completely normal. Once I took those off my right calf felt a little bit tight but nothing unusual.

Tuesday, January 12, 2016
The ride was fairly unremarkable. I did have to throw on a sprint at the end to get to 8 miles. As to the NTC ab burner workout, my abs felt sore from the start which made this workout fun. I counted down the seconds on this one. I got to do walking lunges afterwards. I definitely need to keep doing this regularly because I have a feeling that those lunges will make me a bit sore in a few hours or so.

Wednesday, January 13, 2016
This run was just what I needed. Everything functioned as it should. In fact, my stride felt amazing, strong and even. There’s not much more I can say about this run; it was that normal.

Thursday, January 14, 2016
I’m really starting to get the hang of this new strength routine. It’s still a bit odd to get no sort of distance (no cardio whatsoever) but I can feel myself getting stronger each time we do this routine. This time it took us only 20-25 minutes as opposed to 40-45 the first time. (way less standing around, figuring out the machines)

Friday, January 15, 2016
I started to feel sore Thursday evening. That was a pretty good strength training workout. Obviously, I could feel that soreness even more this morning. Thankfully, it did not interfere with the run. I felt good and strong throughout the entire run.

Saturday, January 16, 2016
Today’s run came in three parts and all three parts went fairly well. The warm up was nothing was nothing extraordinary. The race went really well. Unlike last year, I think I managed to run it at 85% effort. (Last year’s effort was closer to 90 or 95%.) I felt strong throughout. Looking at some of the pictures though, I realize that I need to work on keeping my trunk straight. Two of them showed some twisting. I think as I start to feel more normal I may be slipping back into old (bad) habits. As to the 90 minutes after the race, I felt so much better throughout that I remember last year. I averaged around almost the exact same pace. However, my splits were more consistent and I was making sure to keep my pace as easy as I could reasonably. My legs definitely felt all the work I had put in, especially during the last 30 minutes. Afterwards (and during actually) I still feel sore from Thursday’s new strength training routine. I made sure to get in a lot of stretching and foam rolling. I also wore the calf compression sleeves for a bit.

Sunday, January 17, 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed the rest day. The right knee felt a tad tight, perhaps, but nothing unusual. Overall, everything seemed A-Ok.

Leave a comment

Filed under marathon, running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

