Tobacco Road Marathon Week 6 Training Recap

If only I could earn money by running races, I would race every weekend instead of working. 🙂

Monday, January 18, 2016
After seeing some twisting and not great form in pictures from the race I made sure to focus on form during this run. My right knee felt a tad off in the first couple minutes but after some warm up time I felt great. The rest of the easy run went well.

Tuesday, January 19, 2016
It’s been a while since I’ve done a spin class. I definitely want to incorporate this regularly. However, hopefully it will be with a different instructor who picks different (and better) music. The bikes are new since the last time I took a spin class. That’s not hard to do though since it’s been a few years since I’ve been in that room. It took a little while to get used to but that’s to be expected. I sweat buckets but not quite as much as I expected. I definitely will feel the burn. Wednesday morning’s speedwork might be interesting though seeing how I’ll have about 12 hours to recover… 🙂

Wednesday, January 20, 2016
I knew this run would be challenging since I did spin class 12 hours before. My legs needed all the 20 minutes to get going. The first interval was crazy hard. I needed to walk most of the rest portions but I managed to get the rest done and done well. Afterwards my legs felt a little sore but nothing too bad.

Thursday, January 21, 2016
We started upping the ante with the workout now that we’ve done it several times. For each exercise we completed 12 reps as normal and then a set of 7 reps with 5 additional pounds. This made the workout take a little longer. I have a feeling that I’ll be feeling the soreness soon.

Friday, January 22, 2016
I felt amazing through this entire run, almost surprisingly so. I loved every second of it. The intervals at race pace were only slightly challenging. I’m not quite sure what to make of that because usually when I have to run on the treadmill we have at home (yay for snow/ice) everything feels more difficult. I don’t feel that way about all treadmills, just the one at home. Perhaps I could go a bit faster on those sort of intervals? Afterwards I felt great too!

Saturday, January 23, 2016
It’s back to working and resting on Saturday or at least it was supposed to be. The winter storm cancelled work today which was a bummer since I’d been looking forward to time and a half. 🙂 I could have run this morning instead of Sunday but my bed won out. I’ve had several touch workouts in a row so I figured it would be better to sleep in. (Yes, part of that was just justification for hitting the snooze button again.)

Sunday, January 24, 2016
When weather throws iced over roads at you, you suck it up and run on the treadmill. I’ve come a long way in being able to tolerate longer distances on the treadmill. I’m still not a fan of super long runs though. I got it done though and felt physically great. It was a little bit mentally tough but that’s to be expected. I was even able to pick it up for some moderate intervals although I miscalculated when I needed to start and wasn’t able to get as many intervals in as I wanted. It actually wasn’t until towards the very end that I started to feel physically fatigued. I take that as a good sign for the marathon. It may be just the speed, not endurance, that I still need to rebuild.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

