Tobacco Road Marathon Week 7 Training Recap

Getting into the meat of marathon training now.

Monday, January 25, 2016
This run went really well. My legs felt a tad tired but that’s to be expected having just run 17 miles the day before. Other than that my legs felt pretty good. My stride was strong and even.

Tuesday, January 26, 2016
I think I may be starting to get a cold, again. It’s at the sore throat stage which isn’t terrible but more than enough to take me out of the mood to workout. It doesn’t help that the instructor (different from last week) also had poor music choices. I really can’t stand dance/club type “songs.” Oh well. I pedaled the bike and got a workout in. I’m focusing on hydrating well and making sure that the cold doesn’t get any worse.

Wednesday, January 27, 2016
I woke up to a sore throat. After eating something and drinking some water it diminished some but I think I might just be holding the cold off. Despite that, this run went pretty well. My right knee felt a little stiff at the start but after a few minutes it warmed up. I focused on keeping my form good. My stride felt strong and even. Afterwards I felt pretty good. My calf felt just slightly tight so I wore the calf compression sleeves for a little bit.

Thursday, January 28, 2016
Each time we do this I tell myself that I need to remember what weight I had each machine on the last time. Someday soon I’ll make a chart. I really love this routine. My knee felt a little wonky at times but nothing bad. We stepped up our ball toss by standing on the bosu. So much fun.

Friday, January 29, 2016
This run went pretty well. My knee felt a bit wonky at the start but it warmed up after a few minutes. I focused on my form and maintaining a strong and even stride. Overall I felt good. Afterwards my knee felt a tiny bit tight at times but not too bad.

Saturday, January 30, 2016
Since I actually got to work, I ran long Sunday instead of Saturday. My calf and knee felt a little tight and wonky so I stretched and foam rolled. Hopefully this is just a little bump in the road.

Sunday, January 31, 2016
It took a lot to get me out of bed and onto the road this morning. I was definitely not in the mood to run long and that started last night. I ended up starting about an hour after I had originally planned. The run itself went fairly well. I tried my best to focus on form through the whole run which is definitely a challenge when it’s a run that lasts three hours. I divided the run into 3 hour long out-and-back sections which definitely helped with the mental aspect of the run. During the first hour my right leg felt a little stiff/off which helped remind me to focus on form. Towards the end of that section my right leg “warmed up” and felt fairly normal. I took the opportunity to put my gloves back in my car which meant, of course, that the wind picked up immediately making my hands rather chilly. The second hour was the best out of the three. I felt great throughout and only towards the end did my legs start to feel any fatigue. That fatigue came into full force during the third hour. I also felt a bit of that stiffness described earlier but only occasionally. During the “back” portion of the last hour the fatigue came out in full force. I’m not really sure why it felt as hard as it did. I did manage to pick up the pace a little bit but that was mainly the result of a mental bribe for myself just to keep going. I did manage to finish strong but a little disappointed after checking to see how I did last year with this same workout. I finished a little under a mile short. Part of this might be related to the difference in location – last year I ran on the Swamp Rabbit and with Mom for a portion. As for the other part, I’m not sure. Afterwards I felt pretty stiff and sore but that’s to be expected with a 19 mile run.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

