Tobacco Road Marathon Week 10 Training Recap

After an unexpectedly successful half marathon I was ready to dive back into marathon training. I did face another unexpected twist in training with some odd things happening with my left leg. I think it’s pretty safe to say that I’m ready for marathon training to conclude.

Monday, February 15, 2016
My legs felt a little bit off, still a bit sore from the half, at the start of this run. I kept the pace easy and focused on form. I felt fairly strong throughout and made sure to stretch and foam roll well afterwards.

Tuesday, February 16, 2016
The icy road meant that the gym didn’t open until 8. Thus, spin class was cancelled and I had no work out for the day. I was a bit bummed but hopefully I’ll get back to spin class sooner rather than later.

Wednesday, February 17, 2016
My left leg apparently wants to join the unexplained aching party. It’s not bad but I’m keeping a eye on it. As to the run itself, I changed the 55 minute tempo to 10 minute tempo intervals that were tough but doable. I don’t know whether it was because I was thinking about it constantly or something actually going on with my left leg but it felt achey for pretty much the entire day.

Thursday, February 18, 2016
Since we had the instructor this time we were able to do the bicep/triceps exercises as well as a few new ones that I really like. I felt good throughout. I was constantly monitoring my left leg. It felt fairly normal but this might be something I have a hard time shaking mentally. Throughout the day the leg felt completely normal. I think that may have something to do with the unexpected compression effect of the leggings that I wore with my outfit that day. I felt a little bit of an ache in my glute as soon as I took the leggings off at the end of the day but for the most part I didn’t notice anything in the evening.

Friday, February 19, 2016
I had hoped that the left leg thing was a one off thing. That doesn’t seem to be the case. I can feel it in my glute. My stride feel even and normal. After about half an hour or so I couldn’t feel anything off in my glute but I was aware of it the whole time. I really don’t know what to make of it. I stretched and foam rolled as much as I could. Throughout the day, I was aware of some sensations like soreness but nothing too bad. When I went to bed I hoped that a good night’s sleep would be enough to prepare the leg for the long run in the morning.

Saturday, February 20, 2016
That good night’s sleep worked its magic. This run was supposed to include a race pace portion towards the end. I kept it all around the same pace. As much as I want to get back to being competitive with the marathon and take another shot at a BQ, this is not the cycle. I’m not in the mood for marathons, more so for half marathons. I was determined to be stronger mentally this run. With the exception of the race last week, that’s been something that has slightly derailed the run. While I still wasn’t in the mood, my mental stamina was light years better for this run. Physically, I was still a little concerned about the odd sensation that I had been feeling in my left glute and hamstring. I have no idea what was going on but I think it is on the upswing. The only sensation I felt in that area was a little bit of tightness/soreness for the first little bit of the run. My legs overall were a bit fatigued but it has been a while since I’ve done a long run the day after speedwork. (I just realized that, hours after the run.) Afterwards I actually felt pretty good. My legs will probably not be happy with me Sunday because I followed up the run with 4 hours on my feet at work but it ended up not being too bad.

Sunday, February 21, 2016
My legs definitely felt the soreness when I first woke up in the morning. I spent most of the day resting, stretching and foam rolling.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

