Tobacco Road Marathon Week 11 Training Recap

As opposed to week 10, I started this week on a much lower level, motivationally-speaking, than the week before.

Monday, February 22, 2016
I readily admit that I’m getting pretty frustrated with my body lately. I just want to be able to run and more importantly enjoy running like I used to. The left leg felt creaky upon the start but a minute or so took care of that. For the rest of the run, however, I could feel what I can only describe as an odd sensation in the glute, not pain but something there. The hamstring felt a little tight too. There were times that everything felt completely normal. My stride felt good and even throughout. Hopefully this left leg thing is on its way out. Afterwards, I could definitely feel something in my glute but I honestly have no idea of that’s just because I’m a bit of a hypochondriac or if there’s something there. I got out the tennis ball and foam roller and spent a few minutes rolling out, again. I’m holding my breath a little because I think there’s part of this that’s just me being over-sensitive to every sensation-which I am prone to do-but I don’t know how big that part is.

Tuesday, February 23, 2016
I opted out of spin class just in case because I’m still trying to figure out what’s going on with my left leg. I felt good throughout. I could still feel my glute at times. Like I’ve said before, it’s hard to describe. This time it felt like a stretch, especially when I leaned forward. It was a good workout even though I didn’t push the pace. For the rest of the day I was hyper aware of everything to do with the left leg but it didn’t really bother me at all. I have hope again. 🙂

Wednesday, February 24, 2016
This run was almost exactly what I needed. I had almost zero odd sensations in my left glute. I did have some tightness in the hamstring so I’ll be stretching, foam rolling and wearing that compression sleeve. Other than that the run went really well. The first interval at 7:30 felt really difficult. The second one went by almost before I realized that it was almost over. The remaining third fell somewhere between those two. It was a pretty good run but not perfect.

Thursday, February 25, 2016
This session went really well. After discovering that what I thought was a knot in my glute was actually just a bruise, I was no where near as wary as the last time. It might just be the taper crazies setting in early. I enjoyed all the exercises we do and the fairly rapid pace of moving from machine to machine. I enjoy this routine so much more than any class or other routine that I’ve done. Everything felt good and normal for the rest of the day.

Friday, Feburary 26, 2016
This run went really well. Whatever was up with my left leg seems to have resolved itself for which I am very thankful. The hardest part of this tempo run was mental and I’m glad. Instead of caving, I got to work on my mental stamina. I did stop once but that was only because I had a strong side cramp. It came back again when I started back up after the treadmill’s automatic cut off at sixty minutes. Since I was so close to being done I breathed my way through it. I’m looking forward to the half Saturday.

Saturday, February 27, 2016
This race exceeded my expectations. I’m ready to embrace the taper.
🙂

Sunday, February 28, 2016
My legs, calves specifically, are pretty sore for the race. I took it easy, wore compression sleeves and stretched out a few times during the day.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

