Tobacco Road Marathon Week 12 Training Recap

With only a week remaining before race day, I started planning my race strategy-better late than never, right?-and getting ready for the marathon.

Monday, February 29, 2016
This run went as well as could be expected. My calves are still pretty tight which I’ve noticed tends to happen to me after race efforts like Saturday. I spent pretty much the whole run focusing on my form, making sure it was still strong and even. The “usual suspects” (right or left leg) didn’t show up at all. If not for the tight calves, I would have felt amazing. Also, I realized when I got home that, like a doofus, I grabbed the my crosstraining shoes (aka my old running shoes…two editions before the older ones I use now). Oops. My calves felt a little tight through the day but better as the day went on.

Tuesday, March 1, 2016
This ride was not my favorite. At first I was crazy hungry and then when that went away it was replaced with extreme tiredness. (I almost could have fallen asleep on the bike. My pace was slower than I would normally have liked but considering, it wasn’t bad. I have no idea why I was so sleepy. Other than that, my calves were only slightly sore and everything else cooperated.

Wednesday, March 2, 2016
This run wasn’t perfect by far but it wasn’t horrible. My left hamstring felt a little tight but not enough to interfere with my stride. My chest felt a little tight and my stomach was a bit cranky but that should pass. I also had to cut one of the intervals so I could get home, cleaned up and to work on time. Other than that it was a good run. 😊

Thursday, March 3, 2016
I actually wrote down the exercises and weight this time. It will be nice to track this and hopefully see improvement. I felt good throughout.

Friday, March 4, 2016
I remember back when I first moved out and was wrestling with that decision and the decision to move back home. My running suffered and I was an emotional mess. I was pretty sure that that would happen again since I’m dealing with something that is much bigger than that and something of my own making. Unexpectedly, I felt physically great. This was one of the best runs in a long time. I am trusting God right now, big time.

Saturday, March 5, 2016
Despite everything that is still happening mentally (and emotionally and etc), running continues to be going amazingly well. I felt great physically, strong, through this entire run. I am very thankful for that. I am learning to trust and pray and am extremely grateful that running seems to be going as well as it is.

Sunday, March 6, 2016
I feel really good. After weeks and months of dealing with injury and recovery, I am reveling in God’s graciousness of good health at the tiem when I need it the most.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

