Tobacco Road Marathon Race Week Training Recap

Monday, March 7, 2016
This run went well. I’m still dealing with the mental stuff but physically I felt okay. My left hamstring and glute felt a little tight but nothing a little stretching and foam rolling can’t help. Afterwards, I felt great throughout the day. God is good.

Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Since it’s race week I “took it easy” and kept to the stationary bike. I felt good the entire time and that time passed very quickly. Afterwards I felt great until the very end of the day when out of the blue I felt a knot-like sensation in my left calf. When I looked at it I found a bruise, another odd bruise. I have no idea what it is but I’m not going to worry about it.

Wednesday, March 9, 2016
I still had the knot-like sensation and bruise in my calf but it did not interfere with the run at all. I felt great throughout. The splits were fairly even and effortless.

Thursday, March 10, 2016
Since the marathon was only three days away I took it easy on the strength training. I still wanted to get up and do something so I avoided all leg exercises and didn’t push as hard on the other exercises. I had fun though and enjoyed the workout.

Friday, March 11, 2016
I felt really good throughout. Whatever that odd bruise thing was, it was temporary; I didn’t feel it at all. I did keep it easy since the marathon was only two days away now and ran just a slightly slower pace than Wednesday.

Saturday, March 12, 2016
It always feels weird to start a Saturday without a workout. Instead of working out I concentrated on making sure that I stayed hydrated enough in advance of the warm weather for race day and resting up.

Sunday, March 13, 2016
The race went spectacularly well with everything considered. Now it’s time to rest, recover and then start working on base-building for a few months before thinking about marathon training again.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

