Marathon Recovery Week 1 Recap

This week is all about the recovery. I don’t think I feel quite as sore as I did after Rome mainly because I did run a significantly slower overall pace. (Rome was a year ago so it’s hard to compare.) I want to do this recovery right so I’m forcing myself to focus on recovery instead of thinking ahead to when I can get back to running regularly.

Monday, March 14, 2016
Everything felt sore, as to be expected. I slept in and then focused on stretching and taking things easy. My stride felt more normal after I put on the calf compression sleeves, also as to be expected. Occasionally the soreness let up but that was usually when I was walking for a little bit or while sitting for a while.

Tuesday, March 15, 2016
The soreness definitely diminished. I think that my muscles were taking turns being sore because I woke up to my glutes informing me that it was their turn to be sore. The workout consisted of hitting the snooze button frequently.

Wednesday, March 16, 2016
I thought of doing an easy stationary bike ride or walking on the treadmill this morning but decided to take another rest day and make it almost like a real vacation day. The soreness decreased significantly from Monday and Tuesday which confirms my suspicion that the fitness was there for at a time at least ten minutes faster than weather permitted on Sunday. That’s encouraging. I’m ready to start diving back into training. Now to make the training plan…

Thursday, March 17, 2016
I continue to be surprised at how quickly the soreness from the marathon has abated. I am definitely ready to start running again. I even enjoyed this strength training workout. I did avoid leg exercises as a precaution like last week. I’ll start incorporating them back in next week. It also took me a few minutes to get motivated/wake up. After that I pushed hard through the other exercises and loved it.

Friday, March 18, 2016
After over a day of not feeling any soreness whatsoever, I woke up this feeling creaky, almost as if my body knew that I was going to go for a short, easy run and didn’t want to cooperate. For the most part I felt okay through the run. I did have some tightness/aches in my left glute and a tiny bit in the hamstring, especially on the uphills. Hopefully it’s just soreness from the marathon that still needs to be worked out. I am so ready to dive back into training. I was definitely aware of the glute all day but that’s likely my personal neurosis.

Saturday, March 19, 2016
I considered running again but that was before Friday’s run. Instead, I slept in and slept in hard. I loved it. Everything felt good. During my daily stretching, I did feel a little bit more tightness in the left glute/hamstring but nothing extraordinary.

Sunday, March 20, 2016
Not only was I aware of every slight or imagined sensation in my left glute, I was also aware of my propensity to overthink things. I have no idea whether what I think I am feeling (nothing really) is actually real or all in my head. I’m hoping for the best and planning to keep running per the instructions I got from the PT back in October. As long as the “pain” is at a level 1 or 2, my stride is unaffected and everything feels fine afterwards, I’ll keep running.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

