Marathon Recovery Week 2 Training Recap

So, the recovery might take a little longer than I thought but I am insane and signed up to run a half marathon 13 days after a marathon.

Monday, March 21, 2016
The glute did not bother me on this run. The hamstring was a bit tight though. I’ll be stretching and wearing the compression sleeve for sure. Other than that I felt pretty good. Fitness-wise, I think that my legs still need a little more recovery time so it’s good that I have it. 😊

Tuesday, March 22, 2016
I felt pretty good on the ride albeit a bit bored. I found it a little difficult to concentrate on the magazine I brought to read but other than that, the ride went really well.

Wednesday, March 23, 2016
The ache/soreness was almost unnoticeable this time. I felt pretty good through the entire run. (This is why I try to log the runs right away. I wrote this less than half an hour later and still had trouble remembering details. 😊) After sitting in the chair at work for a little while I felt an odd pain off and on throughout the day but when standing, walking around or sitting in a chair, it felt completely normal. This is a little odd.

Thursday, March 24, 2016
Strength training is finally becoming fun. I like that. For the most part, I forgot about the weird glute thing. Occasionally I remembered it but didn’t really notice it and none of the exercises caused any flare ups. I just wish I knew what was going on with it. Other than that, we avoided leg exercises for the day since we have a half marathon on Saturday. (Yes, I am crazy.) We tried some new machines and pushed hard. I really enjoyed it.

Friday, March 25, 2016
The run went alright. The glute really wasn’t an issue though I was aware of it at first. Gradually that seemed to transition into some tightness in my left hamstring. I’m not sure what it is but it doesn’t seem to interfere physically. I’m still concentrating on maintaining good form. Overall, despite the ridiculous humidity and the weird left leg stuff, this run was pretty good.

Saturday, March 26, 2016
I really wish that I could figure out what’s up with my left leg. It just feels “off.” Maybe I’m out of alignment or something? Anyway, I’ll let the recap tell the rest of the story.

Sunday, March 27, 2016
With various Easter activities, I stayed on the move the entire day. Not once did my left leg bother me, at least how it bothered me yesterday. The front inside felt a bit tight in the morning when I would get up after sitting for a while but nothing significant. I felt pretty good and hoped that the leg was just being cranky not starting the journey to injury.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

