Rebuilding Week 1 Training Recap

I think that three weeks is about the limit of the marathon recovery period. 🙂 I changed the name but there’s still a bit of recovery going on. Instead of pushing myself – even with easy runs – like I did the week before, I decided to take all pressure off myself and play it by ear, workout-wise.

Monday, March 28, 2016
I woke up ready to run 45 minutes easy. Mom told me that she was going to sleep in. That sounded good so I did the same. I didn’t get to hit the snooze button Saturday or Sunday thanks to the race Saturday and Easter services Sunday so I enjoyed it far more than I would have enjoyed the run. I don’t have anything to train for right now so there was no reason to push myself. The left leg felt fine, a little bit creaky at some points but nothing significant. Maybe another couple days off (Monday and Tuesday) will help sort everything out.

Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Everything felt great. The left leg felt completely normal, thankfully. I loved the ride and felt strong throughout. It also felt great to push hard. My mileage reflected that. I’m hopeful for good results when I run again Wednesday. My left glute/leg felt the most normal that it has for a week or so throughout the entire day.

Wednesday, March 30, 2016
The time off Monday definitely helped. The left leg didn’t feel perfect but it felt much better. I could still feel an ache-like sensation on the outside of my hip but other than that everything was great.

Thursday, March 31, 2016
This workout has become a lot of fun especially when we push really hard. We added assisted pull ups this time. I could barely get four. I can do strength training if it’s like this. As to the left leg, I could feel it when I first got started on a couple of the exercises but nothing much after that. (When I say feel, I generally mean an odd sensation that’s not pain but rather something that I can’t really describe well.)

Friday, April 1, 2016
The run went fairly well. The gym was crazy hot so that was fun. Maybe the heat got to me and that’s why I felt more tired than I expected to be. The left leg was only slightly cranky/achey. I concentrated on good form. Not my favorite run but it’s done. Work was crazy which resulted in my back getting really tight by the time that I got to go to lunch. I think part of that was the additional soreness from the strength training workout Thursday. My upper arms and shoulders definitely felt the work and I love it! (I didn’t love the tight back muscles of course but that was definitely stress induced and went away after I was able to relax at lunch.)

Saturday, April 2, 2016
I woke up with absolutely no motivation to run. All I wanted to do was continue to hit the snooze button. When I did get up I spent a little while trying to convince myself to just start running. I couldn’t even decide on how long I wanted to run, a danger of not having a plan besides taking it easy and rebuilding my base. Mom had other obligations so we couldn’t run together but when I texted her, she suggested that we run Sunday and go to the evening service. A plan! Of course, after I was awake for a little while that motivation started to return but too late to squeeze it into Saturday’s schedule so Sunday it is.

Sunday, April 3, 2016
For the most part I felt fine on this run. I really do enjoy running in the daylight. The left leg cooperated completely for the first half hour or so. After that I could feel it but it was just something between an ache and some tightness. I focused on form and for the most part felt okay. I would just love for whatever the “off-ness” is about the leg to work itself out so I could get back to training regularly.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

