Rebuilding Week 2 Training Recap

Coming back from this marathon has been very different than the others I’ve run. Although, I have to say that I don’t know for sure whether the weird left leg thing has anything to do with the marathon. It sort of rolls together.

Monday, April 4, 2016
I decided not to run partially considering the fact that my “long” run was Sunday but also considering the fact that I had very little motivation. I think my streak of not running on Mondays ends this week. Things seem to be getting better and everything felt great throughout the the rest of the day.

Tuesday, April 5, 2016
I really liked this ride. Since I didn’t workout Monday, I wanted to push the pace on this one. I did just that through the entire ride and loved it. Everything felt great. I’m hopeful that that will carry over to Wednesday’s run.

Wednesday, April 6, 2016
This was the best run that I’ve had since the marathon. The left leg cooperated; I had some tightness only towards the very end of the run.

Thursday, April 7, 2016
This one was tough. We mixed it up and did two rounds of some pretty intense sets. The only one I didn’t do twice was the pull ups. I refused. 😊 My arms were noodles anyway. I definitely felt this later, especially my abs.

Friday, April 8, 2016
This run went even better than Wednesday’s. I thought the strength training exercises from Thursday might have made it a little more difficult but I didn’t notice anything. The left leg got a little sore towards the end but that’s it. I actually enjoyed this run. Afterwards, I felt great for the rest of the day.

Saturday, April 9, 2016
For the most part this was a pretty good run. During the first half of the run everything felt absolutely great and I actually started “run-dreaming” like I sometimes do (or did). At about the halfway point I started to feel the ache in my left hamstring-ish area which was not unexpected since I ran Friday as well. My stride remained unaffected. The rest of the run went fairly well although I could feel a slight ache in the left leg for most of the rest of the time. Afterwards, everything felt pretty good although when I went to put my thigh compression sleeve on, I discovered that I missed my bag when I put it back after taking it off Friday at work. It’s probably sitting on the floor next to my shred bin. I’m a little disappointed because I’m fairly certain that it has been helping me recover more quickly. I’ll just get some more stretching and foam rolling in instead.

Sunday, April 10, 2016
I definitely enjoyed sleeping in. For the most part, I felt pretty good. I had some soreness, probably lingering from the tough strength training workout Thursday but nothing extremely noticible.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

