Rebuilding Week 3 Training Recap

I might just be ready to start actual training again. The left leg seems to be healing nicely and I’m glad.

Monday, April 11, 2016Originally this run was going to be 55 minutes long. We decided, on a whim, to each carry a bag of clothes that we were donating to Miracle Hill since there was a drop off box only just slightly off our regular route. Never again. We had to try but it’s definitely something we’re never doing again. The run itself went pretty well. The left leg was only slightly achey and once I got into the run I really enjoyed it. I made the decision to to cut the run a little short only a few minutes after dropping the bag off. (My arm was tired! :D) By the time the end of the run came around I wanted to run more. Oh well. It ended up that we got 45 minutes instead of 40 because I still haven’t learned my lesson that my mental math while on the run lacks accuracy.

Tuesday, April 12, 2016
I enjoyed this ride. It passed fairly quickly. My right knee felt a little odd at a couple points but not significantly enough to affect turnover. (I don’t know what the cycling term for “stride” is.) That slightly disconcerting fact aside, I loved the fact that I got about .4 miles farther this week than last.

Wednesday, April 13, 2016
For the first speed work since the marathon,this went fairly well. It’s very clear that I’ve lost a bit of speed in the meantime. Nowhere to go but up, right? The left leg felt okay throughout, only slightly achey on occasion.

Thursday, April 14, 2016
We focused on arms and abs. I will be feeling this for sure. It was fun and I enjoyed pushing myself. I didn’t start feeling some of the soreness until late that evening. I definitely slept well.

Friday, April 15, 2016
I had planned to run just 30 minutes. However, I woke up less than excited to run. Mom then told me that she was going to sleep some more as well. (She’s been working crazy hard at work putting on a class and doing all the behind the scenes things that go along with that.) That helped me make my decision to get some more sleep.

Saturday, April 16, 2016
Each run keeps getting better and better. If that’s not a sign of healing then I don’t know what is. I felt good throughout the majority of the run. The left leg started to get achey only towards the very end, last 10 minutes or so. I’m starting to get excited about running again.

Sunday, April 17, 2016
Rest days are always very enjoyable. Typically there’s not much to recap and this day is no change. Everything felt good and I made sure to rest up.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

