Rebuilding Week 4 Training Recap

I am so ready to get back into regular training. No more, taking it easy. Marathon Monday started this week off on an excellent foot. The week ended with a great race but then my right knee decided that it was feeling neglected. While I think everything’s still okay, the jury is still out.

Monday, April 18, 2016
I really enjoyed this run, especially the BQ daydreams. My left leg felt pretty much normal the entire time. I felt strong throughout, although I definitely need to work on pacing. The splits were everywhere from 8:57 to 9:42. Lord willing, I will be in Boston two years from today.

Tuesday, April 19, 2016
This ride did not feel as “effortless” as last week. I tried to keep up the same speed which meant that my effort felt like it was up a notch from last week. I’m still riding the post-Boston Marathon viewing high. (I didn’t watch the live stream although I did follow along on Twitter. Does that count as viewing? 😊) I am definitely ready to jump back into serious training.

Wednesday, April 20, 2016
I absolutely loved this run. I felt amazing. The intervals were tough and I loved it! I love feeling strong. Have I mentioned how much I loved this run? 😊 I’m getting excited about training. Several hours later I could feel weirdness in the left glute, the same kind of thing that I had several weeks ago. Of course, I’m a little nervous but hopefully it’s all mental.

Thursday, April 21, 2016
I am really loving strength training lately. (I know, who am I?) I was a little wary going into it because several hours after Wednesday’s amazing run I had that off sensation deep in myself glute that I had weeks ago. I’m hoping that it’s just my brain not letting go/remembering from before. It didn’t bother me at all during strength training. Plus, after watching “Strong” last night (even though it’s definitely not the best fitness program out there), I felt motivated to push as hard as I could through this entire routine.

Friday, April 22, 2016
Thankfully, the oddness I felt in the glute was all in my head. Aside from significant quad soreness from strength training Thursday, I felt strong, ready to train. After I stopped, I felt it a little in the glute so maybe it’s not entirely mental. The running aspect, though, seems to be going really well.

Saturday, April 23, 2016
The race went amazingly well. Everything performed well and didn’t give me any trouble during the race. Everything felt great through the rest of the day as well until I got up to go to bed. That’s when I noticed that I could feel a twinge of something on the upper outside of the right kneecap. I have no idea what it was/is and why it decided to extend the “mental mess” party. I hoped a good night’s sleep would take care of it.

Sunday, April 24, 2016
Unfortunately, a good night’s sleep seemed to change nothing. I can still feel something there. It’s a twinge but not serious pain or anything that seems to interfere. It’s likely something small that my brain has picked up on and is magnifying ten-fold. I stretched and foam rolled and am praying hard that God would help me stop obsessing about every little thing. I just want to get back to normal running and training again.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

