Rebuilding Week 5 Training Recap

This week the runs have seemed to defy my mind’s tendency to get overwhelmed with every twinge or odd sensation so it’s felt a bit of a mixed bag. That being said, training continues to go well. I’m looking forward to some easy races this summer and then perhaps taking the competitive factor up a notch leading into my fall/winter marathon, Kiowah.

Monday, April 25, 2016
Thankfully that right leg nonsense was all in my head. My legs felt a little fatigued from Saturday’s race which is to be expected. The left leg got a little achey after halfway but not too bad. Overall I felt pretty strong and enjoyed the run. Too bad summer seems to be here for good now.

Tuesday, April 26, 2016
This ride felt pretty good. I was hoping to get as far I did last week and came up just a little shy. I felt stronger this week than last so I’ll count that as a win. The right knee felt a tad wonky at the start but nothing too bad and it worked itself out quickly. The only problem came at the end of the ride when the guy who’s always hawking lugies came and chose the machine a couple rows behind me. Seriously, the guy needs to get it checked out. I think it’s a serious medical issue and besides…it’s really gross.

Wednesday, April 27, 2016
This run went really well. When I started I doubted that I would be able to complete the tempo as a tempo without turning it into intervals. I was able and it felt so good. I really enjoyed this run.

Thursday, April 28, 2016
I was not in the mood to workout when I first woke up this morning. I’m had that I’ve made it a habit to push through and work out anyway. The workout went well. I made sure to push myself on all the exercises. If I want to improve, I have to put the effort in.

Friday, April 29, 2016
My legs felt heavy on this run, likely due to Thursday’s strength training. Other than that, this was a good run. Both legs continue to cooperate, a definite good thing. I did have some odd sensations in the right knee later in the day but it doesn’t seem to interfere with anything and didn’t show up in the run Saturday.

Saturday, April 30, 2016
The only negative thing about this run was the heat and humidity. Okay, so that’s two things. I should also add the fact that I forgot to charge my Garmin and had it die on my with two minutes left in the run. (It wasn’t that bad though. I saw the low battery warning just before the hour mark so I saved the run at the hour mark and then every ten minutes just in case I lost whatever data I hadn’t saved when the battery died. Turns out that I didn’t need to but better safe than sorry.) At the start of this run I did wonder if I would be able to get through the full 90 minutes. My legs felt heavy. Thankfully, they soon warmed up and cooperated throughout the entire run. I, as is my new habit, didn’t look at my watch except to time the turn around so I was surprised when I happened to glance at it and saw a mile split of 8:42. (That was our fastest mile of the run.) Our overall average at the hour mark was 8:59 and then when we finished, our average was 9:06. With the last 30 minutes being rather difficult (crazy hills) I’ll take that average for sure. Since my watch died before the end of the run we used Mom’s watch and ended up running 41 seconds longer to get to 10 miles. When she said that she was going to try to get to 10, I was a little surprised that we had gotten so far! I really loved this run.

Sunday, May 1, 2016
In the late afternoon Saturday and into the morning Sunday, I kept feeling oddness on the upper outside right of the right knee. I still have no idea what this is or might be. It hasn’t shown up yet on a run but it is certainly messing with my mind. I am praying a lot and hoping for both peace and healing.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

