Rebuilding Week 6 Training Recap

This week my legs and mind finally got on the same page. I’m thankful that I was able to finish the week with an awesome race and a renewed “need for speed.”

Monday, May 2, 2016
The humidity is ridiculous. I say that every year but every year is seems to be equally ridiculous. My stride felt amazing on this run. I’m still a little wary because I don’t know what’s up with the sensation that comes on hours later but during the run, both legs felt great, tired but great. The first part of this run felt like a bit of a slog with which the humidity did not help. I also asked Mom if she could drop behind once or twice and look at my stride. She said that it looked really good. Other than the humidity, this was a pretty good run. I wore the calf sleeves for most of the day and had no weirdness in the right leg. I think it might have been because of a tight calf.

Tuesday, May 3, 2016
My lower back felt a little sore on this ride so I focused on supporting it by tightening my abs. I think this might be because I stood most of the crazy busy day at work Monday. I will be focusing on good posture as much as possible throughout the day. Other than that this was a good run. I didn’t get quite as far as my farthest distance from two weeks ago, only a few hundredths short. I think I may have reached the limit of how far I can ride in 45 minutes.

Wednesday, May 4, 2016I felt really strong through this tempo. I stepped up the pace a little and when I first started I knew it would be difficult. I avoided looking at the clock because I knew if I did it would be a lot harder to make it through if I was counting down. Both legs continue to cooperate, which I appreciate. 😊

Thursday, May 5, 2016
I am not sure where my brain went this morning. I forgot at least one of the exercises each time we made the circuit. Whoops. The routine was arm heavy so I know that I’ll be feeling it for sure. I tried to keep pushing because I know that’s where the results will come from.

Friday, May 6, 2016
I grabbed the wrong pair of shoes this morning. Instead of my “old” pair that still has about 70 miles left on them, I grabbed the ones that are now my cross training shoes. Whoops. With that in mind, I did shorten the length of the run by about 5 minutes. For the most part I felt pretty good but I could tell that these were old shoes. Hopefully I’ll manage to wear the right ones for the 5k Saturday. Grabbing the old shoes helped me nail down the probably cause of my odd left glute thing from a few weeks ago, old shoes. My left leg made its disappointment in my absentmindedness known throughout the day. Thankfully, a good night’s sleep put that to rest.

Saturday, May 7, 2016
This race definitely reawakened my hunger for speed even though I did have the thought “I hate running fast 5ks. They’re so hard!”

Sunday, May 8, 2016
My calves felt a little tighter than normal when I woke up so I took the time to stretch and wore the compression sleeves. Hopefully, since the 5k wasn’t at top race effort, I’ll be able to recover quickly and dive back into training.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

