Rebuilding Week 7 Training Recap

This week saw some highs and lows, ending with a bit of a low and some frustration with my left leg. I’m not sure if it’s serious or not and am trying to withhold judgement on that. Hopefully, it’s temporary and will pass quickly so I can get back to serious training.

Monday, May 9, 2016
My legs felt a little fatigued at the start of this run, to be expected after Saturday’s effort. They warmed up fairly quickly. Mom joined me on the six 30 second intervals near the end of the run, stride for stride. Those felt good, although I did expect that I would be able to do them faster.

Tuesday, May 10, 2016
I keep trying to reach a high mark that I set a few weeks ago, 12.24 but can’t seem to touch it. On this ride I was so close it was painful, 12.22. 😊 The ride itself went fairly well. Like last week, I had to concentrate on pulling my abs in to support my lower back. Not sure what’s up with that. Hopefully nothing. It didn’t bother me at any other point during the day. Maybe next week I can top that high water mark.

Wednesday, May 11, 2016
These intervals were tough. I had to push myself almost to the limit each time and it felt really good. I love being able to dive back into actual training again. I did shorten the warm up and cool down sections by 5 minutes each but only to make up for the 10 minute late start.

Thursday, May 12, 2016
I think a regular viewing of a show like “Strong” should be required before a strength training session. I got into the gym determined to push hard. My arms are basically noodles now. I loved the entire workout and made sure that I pushed my limits each time.

Friday, May 13, 2016
I made sure to keep the effort level easy for this run with a half marathon Saturday. My legs were definitely feeling the strength training workout though, even though we didn’t do but a couple leg exercises. I will be making sure to hydrate fully and rest as much as I can. If my legs feel like they did on this run, the half might be a bit of a slog. 😊

Saturday, May 14, 2016
As I described in the race recap, I had some occasional left leg weirdness during the race, the same sort of weirdness that I felt after I ran in the wrong shoes last week and a little bit after I ran in the right shoes yesterday. The “right” shoes have only around 330 miles on them and are the ones that I try to use once a week on the short, easy run. I think that after six editions of this shoe, I need to switch it up, again.

Sunday, May 15, 2016
Various parts of both of my legs felt creaky or tight or a bit sore at various points through the day. I made a concerted effort to take it easy throughout the entire day and to stretch and foam roll as much as I could. I’m wondering if my legs weren’t ready for the half marathon distance but I don’t know for sure. This week’s mileage was the highest that I have had since Tobacco Road (except for the week of the TR Half which was ill-thought out) but it was only 32. I fell like I have been moving glacially slowly when it comes to increasing mileage and speedwork. Part of me also wonders if it might be my shoes. I’m on my sixth pair of the Saucony Zealots and while they have worked, part of my has always thought that there wasn’t quite enough cushioning for higher mileage. Ellis and Mom have both recently gotten some Hokas. I would love to try them but my running store, Greenville Running Company, doesn’t sell them. I also may consider redeeming my coupon from Reedy to Performance Therapy

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

