Functional Training Week 1 Training Recap

This week things seem to be settling down on the physical and mental front. I started some functional training (hence the name of this section of training) with Performance Therapy that will continue for another nine weeks. I am hopeful for improved results with this taking my base down to the bare bones (aka working on my form) and rebuilding the right way before marathon training begins again in September.

Monday, May 30, 2016
I loved everything about this run except for the humidity. Now that summer’s here I have to get used to it. 😊 My legs felt pretty good. They were sluggish at first but after what ended up being a 20 minute warm up I found my stride and really got into the run. I made sure to stay focused on maintaining good form. Hopefully this is a sign that the weird issues are behind me or at least on their way out with the help of the functional training starting Wednesday.

Tuesday, May 31, 2016
I almost bailed out of this ride. The sun took a lot out of me Monday. It’s hard to justify skipping a workout because you went to a Braves game though so I headed to the gym and started pushing hard. At times it didn’t even feel like pushing. I loved it and loved the fast pace. The only part of me that didn’t like this ride was my sunburned knees afterwards. (That’s what I get for wearing shorts and sitting directly in the sun. 😊) I really enjoyed this ride.

Wednesday, June 1, 2016
While I would have preferred to do speed work, one week off is probably the best choice. I felt really good throughout. Towards the last few minutes my left leg (knee) felt a little off but that passed. I enjoyed the run. I think that the different surface (treadmill) may have aggravated what might be a bit of sciatica because I felt it off an on throughout the rest of the day. The first session of the functional training package that I purchased went pretty well. I’m looking forward to the good results from this training that will hopefully help me get over this seemingly never ending hurdle and back to training.

Thursday, June 2, 2016
I’ve felt the urge to tone up lately so I looked forward to this workout so I could push hard and start getting fit in more areas than running. This workout was tough, big concentration on abs. I can’t wait to see the results. I did the new functional training homework and found myself pleasantly surprised at how difficult it was. The exercises didn’t seem too difficult Wednesday but put all together in the 2 sets of 8…I could definitely feel it.

Friday, June 3, 2016
My legs were so sore after Wednesday’s strength training. My pace definitely reflected that. The humidity wasn’t my friend either. This was one of those runs that you get out there and get done, nothing to write home about.

Saturday, June 4, 2016
If it hadn’t been for the sun and the humidity, I would have absolutely loved this run. The DOMS from Thursday’s strength training faded enough that it wasn’t a factor on this run. Both of my legs cooperated. 🙂 The lack of shade and humidity were quite draining but other than that my legs actually felt strong and more than capable of completing the run. The only thing that would have made this run better would have been starting earlier but that’s what I get for forgetting to charge my Garmin the night before. 🙂

Sunday, June 5, 2016
My legs were pretty sore when I woke up. I took it easy and made sure to stretch. I’m pretty sure that the new exercises I’ve incorporated into my daily routine as “homework” after my first session with Performance Therapy are “helping” with that soreness.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

