Functional Training Week 2 Training Recap

This week turned out to look a bit different than I expected. I got good advice at my functional training appointment. I ended up running only three days. I finished the week with my third fastest 8k time. All in all, not a bad week. I still had a few moments of mental issues concerning the various real or not real sensations but that’s to be expected as I work through everything.

Monday, June 6, 2016
The humidity was ridiculous. Other than that this was a fairly decent run. My left knee did feel a bit odd at a few points but when I focused on good form I didn’t feel that oddness.

Tuesday, June 7, 2016
This ride did not go by as quickly as last week. I still enjoyed it though and loved pedaling hard. It was a good solid ride.

Wednesday, June 8, 2016
This was one of the best runs I have had, ever. At my second appointment at Performance Therapy, my trainer had one of the other therapists come outside and watch my run, give me pointers. I learned a lot. Basically, I have a lot of bounce in my stride, wasted effort, and I over stride significantly. He gave me three things to work on/think about during my next runs: lean forward, arms at 90 degrees, feet under your body. That’s what I did on this run and could feel such a difference. I even unconsciously ran 30 seconds faster per mile. I didn’t look at my watch, just ran by effort. This is thrilling to me. I am definitely willing to put in the work since it yields results like this so soon.

Thursday, June 9, 2016
I made sure to put enough weight on to make each exercise challenging. I really enjoy these routines. My left glute still felt a bit achey at the start but it calmed down. I can also tell that my left leg is weaker than my right. Something to work on.

Friday, June 10, 2016
A sudden intense bout with vertigo for Mom that woke her up in the middle of the night drastically changed the schedule for the day. Since I was up for several hours in the middle of the night I opted to sleep for an hour when I got back to the house instead of run.

Saturday, June 11, 2016
The race far exceeded my wildest expectations. I am thrilled with the improvement and also the opportunity to further pinpoint what I need to work on.

Sunday, June 12, 2016
My legs let me know just how hard I actually ran Saturday. I woke feeling plenty of soreness so I spent a good bit of time in the morning stretching and foam rolling. I took it easy the rest of the day to recover well.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

